Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> All

    I like Windows XP Pro, and I think MS has done a good job with it, BUT...

    Each time I inset a zip disk in my two Zip250s (One Parallel, and one ATAPI) I get a new Windows Explorer window for the disk/drive?! <img src=/S/beep.gif border=0 alt=beep width=15 height=15>

    How can I stop Windows from opening this extra Window when I have Windows Explorer already open?

    This also happens with CD-ROMs in my CD-RW and DVD drives.

    Thanks

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    Hold your "Shift" key down while the drive is reading the startup of the Zip floppy or CD.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Dave

    I was hoping for a chick and removing some sort of an option.

    I am thinking what happens when I can't free a finger to hold the SHIFT key? Say I am away from my PC, or on the phone?

    Thanks any way.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    If you are away from the PC or even on the phone how can you put in a ZIP or CD?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Dave

    I can insert the disk, and then since it takes a bit longer to come up, leave to do something and come back.

    Is there an option that would stop Windows XP from thinking that I need a new window for my Zip Disks, specially when I am working in Windows Explorer?

    It needs to know that I am in WE and thus not open a new window. Or I am not in WE and thus DO open a window.

    Thanks again <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    The only Zip drive I have is a Zip 100 SCSI on my Win98SE machine and it doesn't open any windows when you insert a disk. Since you made the post, I've been looking in folder options and don't see anything in there that would cause it. Do you have whatever version of Iomega Tools your drive uses? Maybe the opening is a "fee-chur" you can turn off there or in drive properties. Even on my XP Pro machine, the only time anything "opens" is if I insert a CD with an Autorun file on it.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    When on puts in a Zip or CD Windows XP would Open a "What do you want WindowsXP to do ?" pane, which has a remimber check mark. Some one may have selected to "Browse" and then checked the remember box. I have NOT found a way to restate back to the default which was to OPEN the pane with the question. Once we find out how to do this then we should be able to pick the "take no action and then add the check mark.
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Dave

    Thanks for posting the image of the Window's window, I don't know what it is really called, "Action window" perhaps.

    OK if I say "Take No Action" as you have it highlighted, and then check the "Always do the selected action" checkbox, what happens to the AutoRun feature of Windows when I want to install software?

    This is the closest I got to automatically preventing this problem.

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, Lebanon
    Posts
    1,449
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Big Al

    See the image on Dave's latest post. This is what Windows XP Pro does when you insert a CD-ROM disk in a drive.

    For Zip disks, I get a Windows Explorer window for that drive. Even if I am in WE to start with.

    This started when I was looking for a file and I thought it was on one of my Zip disks, each time I inserted a disk, this window will pop up, and I already had WE started so it was useless to have this window pop up.

    Thanks for checking, SCSI Zips work the same as ATAPI but a bit faster.

    Wassim
    <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> in the <img src=/S/bagged.gif border=0 alt=bagged width=22 height=22>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Iomega Zip Drive and Windows XP

    I believe that if you add the check mark and select Take No Action, then NOTHING will happen including the autorun will not run. I may be wrong but that is what I think, I have NOT tried it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •