Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    I have an autokeys macro to cancel the default functions associated with access.

    For some reason it's stopped working.
    I open several forms with vbkeys,
    F7 for menu's (custom Forms)
    F2 to find a record
    F3 to create anew record
    etc etc

    The macro has suddenly stopped working.
    If I press F7 to open one of my custom pop-up menus, the Access spell checker kicks in also.
    Has anyone had this before and how do I remedy this.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Just a stupid question. You didn't start your database while holding the Shift key down, did you?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Hans I wish it was so simple.

    I know I've been messing with bits of code, Importing forms and stuff, but I always follow the same procedure after doing so.
    Debug
    Save
    Exit module.

    Its something to do with Office itself I'm afraid.
    I,ve done some digging and noticed other have had this problem also, with no answers as to how to cure, other than re-install.

    I'll have a go and let you know.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Nope
    Didn't work !!
    Help

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    I don't know if this will help, but you might give it a try:
    1. <LI>Make a copy of the problem database. Work with the copy.
      <LI>Decompile.
      <LI>Open any module in the database.
      <LI>Select Debug/Compile and Save All.
      <LI>In the database itself, select Tools/Database Utilities/Compact & Repair.
      <LI>Try one of the "disabled" function keys to test.
    If that doesn't help:
    1. <LI>Create a new empty database.
      <LI>Import all database objects from the problem database into the new one.
      <LI>If you had non-standard references in the old database, set them in the new database.
      <LI>Don't set startup options yet.
      <LI>Try one of the "disabled" function keys to test.
    If the AutoKeys works OK now, set the startup options for the new database as in the original one.
    If the problem persists, I don't know <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Hans
    thanks for the suggestions but a rareity for you, it hasn't solved the problem.

    I guess its something in the registry.

    I removed A97, I removed A2000.
    I removed the office folders from explorer.
    I renamed VBE6.dll

    <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>


    Is there a way to totally remove everything remotely associated with office.
    My db works fine on other pc's.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Goose Creek, South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Microsoft has a utility available for download called 'Eraser2k' which removes all traces of Office2k. They may also may still have one available for Office97 called (strangely enough!!) 'Eraser97'.
    I can never remember where they are, but go to the Access section and search for "Eraser". Last time I downloaded them I kept copies in a temp directory, where I stash useful miscellaneous stuff, so it was available.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    thanks for the info.
    I downloaded both versions and tried them both.

    The utilities won't work with windows xp, I have windows 98 but both utilities think I have xp installed and won't work.

    I really don't know what to do now.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Throw the PC out the window? Or, a bit less drastic, backup all data files on the hard disk, reformat it and do a fresh install of Windows, Office, ... etc., then restore the data files.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Hans
    I don't have a window in my office, but I do have a skip !

    I will have to re-install I think.

    Have you ever seen that film "The Abyss"

    Thats how I feel at the moment.

    In the famous words of:- Ed Harris --> Virgil 'Bud' Brigman , I'm going off line now, I may be gone for a while.

    Good bye all

    If I don't see you again, merry christmas all.
    T-Hinc aBowt ---- # ,, mE fRom tiMee tO Timmee...........---------------

    dAVe------

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    I'm back

    The Aliens saved me just at the last minute.

    p.s

    My Autokeys are ok now.

    <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    So what did you do that your AutoKeys work now?

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Hans
    I did a total re-install.(windows & Office)

    Every thing works ok now.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Dave,

    Sometimes, that is the only way, unpleasant though it may be... Glad it works now.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutoKeys macro (A2k)

    Just found this attached db which, seems to address this kind of Autokeys problem.

    Obviously I don't need to use it ( and don't want to try ) because I don't have the problem anymore, but.

    If any of the more VBA Clued members would like to review and make comment as to the samples content, and whether it would work; Somebody's future Autokeys nightmare may be solved when "Autokeys" is searched via this forum.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •