Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Does anyone know how to make IE6 open a second copy? Frequently, after logging into a site, I want to go somewhere else for a bit of information without having to logout. I used to be able to load a second copy of IE5, but since upgrading to Win XP Pro/IE6 this no longer works.

    Thanks for any help.
    Jim Konzak

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Works OK for me. What happens if you click on a link to another post such as Post 195535?

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO, USA
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    That does work, although what I had in mind is selecting the IE icon for a new copy.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    That should still work.
    Is your 'icon' a shortcut to IE6 or a shortcut to your homepage (or other URL)? If it is a shortcut to a URL it may simply redirect your current open window to that URL.
    Try a (new) shortcut with properties of
    "C:Program FilesInternet ExplorerIEXPLORE.EXE"
    (or whatever the path is to your installation)
    Does that start a new instance of IE?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    How about just using CTRL+N to open a new window?
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Leif--
    I'm trying to understand this. IE6 always opens a new window for me if I go to a new web site. Isn't that normal? I have used Bryan's suggestion of Ctrl + N when a window comes up in a web site, and it has no IE or any other browser toolbar--like the site's popup with information I want to save or shortcut or favorite--Ctrl +N will put an immediate toolbar on that window. It will also of course open up a new Word window.

    Jim--I'm trying to understand what you want to do. If you go to a site, and then go to another site, is it opening in the same window? Does unchecking "display results in the same window," or "reuse window for launching shortcuts" (Tools/Options/Advanced) affect this and unchecking help? I have them both unchecked, and now I will have to figure out what they do and what the difference is. If someone could help me with these two boxes, I would appreciate it--and I'll see what checking each does.

    What I haven't been able to do is make a link on the IE toolbar open in a new window. There have been a few long threads on this--but no one has come up with a way to do that.

    defrag

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    >>What I haven't been able to do is make a link on the IE toolbar open in a new window. There have been a few long threads on this--but no one has come up with a way to do that.<<

    Because this is coded into the .dll this way, it is difficult to change. If you try to change it, you get hit in the face with that annoying "IE is not your default browser" warning...

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Thanks--

    I was just hoping someone would come up with a way--the links are somewhat convenient--although like favorites I drag more than I use hoping they'll reminind me--they would be even more convenient if they would open in a new window.

    defrag

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Hi defrag:
    I use Bryan's method of Ctrl+N & then I click on the one of the toolbars in the new window. It's almost as easy if you plan ahead. I usually keep several windows open so I can read one while the other is loading. I'm sure that the seconds I save each time is offset by having to reboot when I run out of resources, but... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Thanks Phil--
    I can't remember if you're still using 98--and in your hands I'm sure those resources get maximized well. It's a good idea--a few second go around from the window just automatically reopening. I don't know if you are using XP on any machine now, but I don't think you would have to be restarting very much. I don't try to see how many windows I can have open, but it will handle an awful lot and spare resources when I check task manager. The only thing that can give me annoying freezes lately is Diskeeper which is supposed to run completely in the background on set it and forget it but once in a while gets in the way--when I have a media player going/sometimes; most times not--so I have taken to running it when I go to bed.
    I saw Reuse Internet Explorer Window for Launching Shortcuts. I wonder if this could be used, or tweaked in any way to make a link open in a new window. I also wonder if it is used to repair the function of the menu option I'm about to ask you about along with two others. I should know and probably read but I'm not sure.

    On the options/advanced tab are three check boxes and I'm not sure what they do and the difference between them because the words seem ambiguous; I wonder if they influence a new browser window openning which is working fine now.
    1) the enable page transitions (its checked but I couldn't tell you what it does)
    2) reuse windows for launching shortcuts (unchecked)
    3) when searching...just display results in the main window(unchecked)

    This thread reminded me I'm not sure what these do and wonder if any of them impact opening a new window or not when you put a new url in the browser address bar.

    Thanks for the tip and any help,

    defrag

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    As far as I know the 3 options are for:
    1. enable page transitions - when opening in the same window, uses a "fade to black"; i.e. it's glitz
    2. reuse window for launching shortcuts - if checked & you have a browser window open, then clicking a shortcut will open in the same window; if unchecked, will open in a new window.
    3. when searching...just display results - works sort of like the knowledge base; you get a page of links.

    By the way, when in the Options dialog box, click the "?" in the upper right corner & then click on the option you have a question about. Most of them have an explanation.
    Cheers,

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Thanks very much. That "?" can sometimes be very helpful, and I forget it and Help and Support has a lot of information. The key for me is #2, which unchecked will open another window. Anything I can do to enable multiple windows to be open instead of filling the same one. I have run accross some excellent sites that explain these in detail with screenshots, and tucked them into some XP folders.

    I wonder if that regedit from Winguides is to fix a broken option (reuse window for shortcuts) or somehow to modify it if you know enough about modifying it to make it do what you want. Maybe I was guessing hopefully that somehow it could be played with to allow you to make a link open in a new window.

    Appreciate the help.

    defrag

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    <hr>I was guessing hopefully that somehow it could be played with to allow you to make a link open in a new window.<hr>
    I think that's a function of how the web page is set up. e.g. in this Lounge, if you click on a link in a "list of posts" or on one of the result links after a search, it opens the in the same window.

    If you click on a link that's in a post, it opens in a new window. I don't know if that can be modified or not. I suspect it can because Shift+click always opens a new window (except on the Microsoft knowledge base). Even there, you can right click & choose "Open in new window" & it works.

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Phil Thanks.
    When you "shift +click" as a shortcut to open a new window, I assumed you meant shift + left click, but it didn't open a new window for me--when you say you can choose is it supposed to be bringing up some menu (like a right click context menu?)

    defrag

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IE6-Open 2nd Copy (6.0.2600)

    Hi defrag:
    Yes, that's what I meant. If you hold down the Shift key & click on a link, it should open in a new window. This works for me on almost every web page. It doesn't work on the KB results page, & if a link is already set up to open in a new window by default), there are times that I get an error. As I recall, that happens on a secure site like online banking or giving credit card info.

    For example, if I do a search in the Lounge & get a list of links, holding the shift key down & clicking a link will open it in a new window. Are you saying that doesn't happen with you?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •