Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    did a listing of tables in my application and I saw 7 unknown table names : MSysAccessObjects, MSysACEs, MSysIMEXColumns, MSysIMEXSpecs,MSysObjects, MSysQueries, and MSysRelationships.

    I assume they are system tables hidden from us. What are they for ? Can we manipulate directly these tables?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    Yes, you can directly manipulate them, but no, you shouldn't. Nor, as the official line goes, should you make great use of them as that would be unsupported by MS and the structure of those system tables is not guaranteed from version to version. In fact, pretend they're a solar eclispse and never look directly at them! <img src=/S/noevil.gif border=0 alt=noevil width=25 height=17> If you're feeling spanky, you can view system tables in the database container by clicking Tools -> Options, choosing the View tab and checking the Hidden Objects and System Objects check boxes.

    In a nut shell, they contain configuration information for your database. For example, if you create an Import Specification naming all of the fields, setting their data types, their start positions and lengths, etc., all of the information can be found in MSysIMEXSpecs and MSysIMEXColumns tables.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><font color=blue>~Shane</font color=blue></font face=comic>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    To reinforce Shane's warning, <font color=red>Do not try this at home!</font color=red> Messing about with the system tables is a good way to trash your database in a hurry. In fact, we had a thread on that not too long ago ... unless I'm thinking of an Access list I'm on. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> You can manipulate them from code but unless you write expert level books on developing in Access, I would suggest you refrain from trying it.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    Yep Charlotte, you are thinking of the list.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> I've got to stop hanging out with Access developers! The questions are all starting to look and sound alike. <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    Hey, that's not bad, one publicly confused moment, in all this time. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    What do you mean ONE? I have them all the time. It *has* to be the company I keep! <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Access's System tables? (A2K-SR1)

    <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> I was trying to give you the benefit of the doubt.

    See what being a nice guy does <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>

    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •