Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    I believe this comes from tinkering with stationary. In the upper right corner of the OE toolbar, on the same level as File/Edit/View/Tools... is a one inch square which looks like a drab light green linoleum floor ( a checkered pattern)--occupies the same real-estate as the XP logo on the IE toolbar. I didn't start with it, but wasn't using OE as much as now so don't remember what brought it. I'm pretty sure it has to do somehow with a view of stationary when I was looking at it--but can't figure out which stationary and would like to get rid of it. Rt. or Lt. clicking or dragging all over it does nothing to it. I went to stationary selections, but could find no way to deal with it if it does relate to stationary.

    It's one of these things that doesn't impact functionality, but frustrates you because you can't control it or figure out what it's about or how it got there.

    Would really appreciate some help. For someone OE familiar, this has got to be easy to get rid of.

    Thanks,

    defrag

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Give us a screen shot of what you have!!

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Of course that's the only way that makes sense Dave. I have been wanting to do this and have put learning it off. I used to use Paint in ME, but can't make "print screen" paste screen shot from the clip board (if it's there in XP.) I know several threads have suggested how and what to use, and a number of people use Gadwin Print Screen.
    I'll search and find out how and then post it. It's an inch square and has to have come from stationary on the right under the minimize and close buttons. It could possibly be from Stardocks, I suppose, but don't think so.

    Thanks--I'll get on copying screen shots. What do you like to use to put up a screen shot?

    defrag

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    I use HardCopy (http://www.info.hardcopy.de/) to get the screen shot and then edit as needed it PaintShop Pro 7.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Screen Shot:

    (1) Make the target window active (e.g., current application). Size it to the smallest useful size to save on Lounge real estate.
    (2) Press Alt-PrintScreen to capture the window to the clipboard.
    (3) Start MS Paint and Paste the image, enlarging if prompted. Click a toolbar button to clear the selection.
    (4) Drag the right and bottom resize handles to remove extraneous matter.
    (5) To minimize color depth (and storage requirements), if you have a simple dialog, save as 16-color BMP, then Save As GIF. This will create a very small image, usually under 10KB. On the other hand, if the picture contains a lot of subtle colors, go straight to JPG format.

    I'm not sure what problem you're running into with pasting...if Print Screen isn't working, there might be a problem with one of the Windows settings.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Here's the screen shot. This is my unwanted OE design. I don't know when it came, why I have it, what it is, or how to get rid of it--but otherwise I pretty much have it under control.

    defrag

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Is this in place of the MS Windows flag, if so you have down loaded or installed a "Branded" version of IE.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: We cannot proceed this is not an error message

    Dave--

    The key is in that dialogue box. I wish there were some express, explicit, on point instructions on that dialogue box in Lounge help.


    This is the black screen I get when I try to load the simple corner of the IE toolbar that has the windows flag that hasn't been branded. The XP Pro was out of the box from Redmond --it isn't OEM and OE didn't have that thing until I played with somethng to do with stationary. I have the same IE Windows XP logo that they use as you do, and it isn't for lack of trying--I'm doing every combination of JPEG, BMP known to man in that dialogue box to put it up.

    Some simple instructions besides to "get Hard Copy," or to "get the MS Photo Editor" which they make you go back to the Office CD Rom to load--I have it, would go a long way. I understand they have features that let you tweak the screen copy you have and zoom with nuances, and I'll get one of them. Bur right now I just want to post using Print Screen and MS Paint until I get something else.

    I know it can be done because I got one image on this thread above yesterday. I'm trying to get the little Redmond hoops flag from IE up with obviously no success.

    Thanks,

    defrag
    <font color=blue>When I post no matter what permutation/combination of format either BMP or JPEG, I get three vague lounge error messages</font color=blue>, and I think more people would post screen
    shots eliminating the "what do you mean?" questions back and forth if they had less trouble.
    __________________________________________________ ___________
    Message #1:

    [This is what I get on a black screen or else on lounge background I get that the image is too big--but it is no "bigger" than the ones I see, and has been saved as a 24 bit BMP, a JPEG-the one posted above is a JPEG--if I use a 16bit BMP I get a grayscale, and no one wants to be clear about how to use the dialogue box unfortunately. The lounge doesn't look broken at the moment to me.

    Vague Message #2

    500 - INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
    Sorry, there was an internal error on this
    server. The requested operation can not be
    performed at present.



    The webmaster has been informed of the problem.
    The webmaster will investigate
    the problem as soon as possible.


    Please try again in a few hours, thanks.



    The Lounge is broken at the moment

    [b][b]OR THIS[b][i] (not very helpful):
    We encountered a problem. The reason reported was:

    File too big.

    This is not necessarily an error. If you feel this is an error then it could be something as simple as your browser not being set to accept cookies. If you feel this error is a problem with the server then please contact LoungeAdmin and let us know what exactly went wrong so it can be fixed as soon as possible. Otherwise, please use your back button to return to the previous page.

    Vague Message #3

    We cannot proceed.

    We encountered a problem. The reason reported was:


    This is not necessarily an error. If you feel this is an error then it could be something as simple as your browser not being set to accept cookies. If you feel this error is a problem with the server then please contact LoungeAdmin and let us know what exactly went wrong so it can be fixed as soon as possible. Otherwise, please use your back button to return to the previous page.

    __________________________________________________ _____________________


    defrag

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    You can get rid of that large white space in your graphics editor:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Jefferson-

    -All I was trying to show here was the Windows Logo actually in response to Dave A's saying that having a branded edition could account for that piece of linoleum looking thing in Post 197472 above--I was trying to show Dave that if I had something branded that way, then the branding would show up in every browser window instead of the Windows licensed logo--I tried dragging--they didn't seem to want to go anywhere, but I'll try harder and if you don't undo or clear these images, is their any where they are stored for the Paint Clipboard to be re"worked" with Paint's editing abilities?

    Also I don't understand why when I'm through uploading the images, and what to shift+delete them off my hard drive, they seem to be removed, and when I check later they're still there.

    I have also tried to use a GIF or BMP to upload and I know the lounge supports them, but I can never get it done that way for whatever reason. Would appreciate if someone would do a section in "Help" on the details of that dialogue box.

    Thanks,

    defrag

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    > I've been draging every conceivable side and corner of every outline

    It is important to make sure nothing is selected when you try to resize an image in Paint. If the pasted-in image still shows a dotted outline, you need to deselect it. One reliable way to do this is to click the top right button in the toolbox (the rectangular selection tool). You then should be able to access the handles of the image itself.

    If the handles can't be found, use the Image|Attributes dialog and change the width and height to something narrower and shorter.

    Another useful thing is, when starting Paint, set the image size to something small, like 100x100 pixels. When you paste, you will be prompted to allow Paint to enlarge the image to the best fitting size. This works well with single windows or dialogs captured with Alt+PrintScreen. If you captured the whole desktop, it won't really save you any time at all.

    Regarding the green thing, no. Weird green blotches don't seem to be a feature of Windows 2000 and OE 5. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    <span style="background-color: #FFFF00; color: #000000; font-weight: bold">Image cropped by defrag 11/23</span hi>
    ___________________________________________

    Jefferson--
    I've been trying to get rid of the extra junk by cropping--like this OE screenshot by using these suggestions from the index of MS Paint Help, and I'm still playing with the rectangular outline you can apply:
    __________________________________________________ ________________________
    To copy and paste part of a picture
    In the toolbox, click Select to select a rectangular area, or click Free-Form Select to select a freeform area.
    Drag the pointer to define the area you want to copy.
    Select a method of pasting:
    Click to apply an opaque background.
    Click to apply a transparent background.
    On the Edit menu, click Copy.
    On the Edit menu, click Paste.
    Drag the selection to a new location.
    and
    To change the size of your picture
    On the Image menu, click Attributes.
    Under Units, click the unit of measurement you want to use for the width and height.
    Type the measurements in Width and Height.
    Notes
    __________________________________________________ _________________________

    You can also resize your picture by dragging the image resize handles, located at the lower-right corner and along the bottom and right sides of your picture. (You might need to maximize the window to see the square resize handles.)
    If your current picture is bigger than the new size, the picture is cut from the right side and bottom to fit within the smaller area. If your current picture is smaller than the new size, the extra area is filled with the selected background color.
    __________________________________________________ ________________________

    And I've been draging every conceivable side and corner of every outline--there's some kind of cropping I have to do besides merely dragging. When I drag, I don't get to preview the big chunk of white or desktop or whatever extra junk I'm going to see in the lounge. The on-point, operative word for me is preview.

    [b][i]BTW: Do you have any idea what that green thing is in the screenshot of the OE toolbar is
    that is not branding because when I get out of OE and go to IE I have this in the corner:

    Thanks for your continuing help.

    defrag

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Dave--
    Really appreciate your help. But this isn't branded. I'm not sure what you mean branded. Wouldn't XP out of a box be "branded" by Microsoft Redmond--and I know you can tweak the branding easily yourself--Tech TV does it with designs and copy once a week for people.

    I know I attended some MS meetings where they discussed OEM Branding or tweaking so that the OEM on some kind of install with some OEM tools could brand some logos and OEM names on their machines' XP--resellers and such I guess. But I think what you were thinking and I appreciate your help is that that light green cheap linoleum looking thing in my OE screen shot thing some kind of OEM branding tattoo. It's definitely not; I did it after OE came from IE6 in an XP box. I did I think reinstall OE some screwy way when I downloaded SP1, but that wouldn't affect this--it would possibly replenish some missing or corrputed files I think.

    Here is a shot of my upper right IE toolbar--there's the Windows logo. That green thing in the OE screen shot up above used to be a solid gold Stardock colored toolbar.



    BTW--Dave or someone--you can edit text in a post--can you take back your screen shot and redo it or do you have to make another post. Once it's up, can you tweak it any, change it, get it back and redo it? I know you can delete it and I guess redo it that way--can you play with the dialogue box and change the GIF or JPEG on an edit? Will work with this in the Test area some more.

    And am I in posting JPEGS because it's the only way I can get them up to the lounge now I think, maybe not--I'll keep working with it putting up images that are too much space for the lounge server--want to do it correctly because I think they can really help.

    Thanks,

    defrag
    <font color=red>edited by DaveA to add smaller image</font color=red>
    <font color=blue>You need to learn how ro crop a image, get a bool and <img src=/S/rtfm.gif border=0 alt=rtfm width=24 height=23></font color=red>
    <span style="background-color: #FFFF00; color: #000000; font-weight: bold">I be tryin' Dave--I truly appreciate the help of everyone and your unselfish time and experience--this is with Paint</span hi>

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    531
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unwanted Design Upper Right Corner Tool Bar (OE6SP1)

    Jefferson--these are all very helpful. They don't come accross in Paint Help. Redmond should definitely let people in this lounge write the Help for Paint. I've picked up a number of good tips people have ferretted out from just using it.

    It will probably always be a mystery where I got the green thing. I would think I can probably get rid of it with Stardock's Window Blinds/Object Desktop or one of the IE design tweakers.

    Thanks for the tips,

    defrag

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •