Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    I have had this problem a couple of weeks on my home PC. When I turn on my PC I get the message "Windows cannot load your profile because it may be corrupt. Contact your system Administrator" the only option is "OK" <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> or it will time out in 30 seconds. Next you get a message "Windows cannot find the local profile and is logging on with a temporary profile. Changes are not permanent." Again the only choices are "OK" or to wait 30 seconds. I have not made any changes that I know of. I tried to rollback to no avail.
    I had left the PC on for three or four days, <img src=/S/woops.gif border=0 alt=woops width=58 height=36> came into to office and it was locked up. I tried all of the usual stuff but ended up needing to press the reset button. I can see the profile but I am not sure which file is it that was corrupted or how to create a new profile so that this silly temp one does not keep coming up.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by bigaldoc on 13-Nov-02 10:11. )</P>I don't know how to "salvage" a corrupt profile, since I've never had it happen to me, but two things come to mind. Do you have a recent BACKUP that would include your Documents and Settings folder? If so, you could try getting the contents of (username) out of that backup to see if that would fix it. Otherwise, I know it means a lot of settings-fiddling, but you could always logon with the built-in Administrator account and create a NEW username with administrative privileges. After which, if successful, I guess you would delete the (username) whose profile is corrupt.

    There's also this in the MS KB. It says Windows 2000 but maybe it applies to XP as well.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    Unfortunately I could not get the Admin account to work either. After an hour of this and that (none of which I wrote down) I was able to create another account. Before I could reboot and test it my wife started in on the "turn off that computer before I wrap it up side of your head" stuff. We will see if this one is kept properly.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    Kent, Here's a reply from a thread in the MS XP newsgroup. Maybe it will help.

    "Suggestions:

    Right click My Computer, Properties, Hardware, Device Manager. Locate the entries for your hard disks and double click each entry. On the Policies tab, uncheck Enable write caching.

    You will see a performance decrease because of this, but if the corrupt registry/user profiles problems cease, then you'll be certain of the cause.

    Logon to another account with admin privilege and run System Restore.
    Choose the most recent restore point and SR should restore the user
    hives.

    Or...

    Boot into safe mode and log in as Administrator. Copy ntuser.dat from %windir%repair to "Documents and Settings[your user id]". Now do a system restore to a point in time prior to when the corruption message began to appear.

    Relocate NTUserdat

    Look in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows
    NTCurrentVersionProfileList and find the profile you want to change
    and then change ProfileImagePath to the ntuser.dat folder that you want
    to use. You must manually copy or move the ntuser.dat file there.

    Error Message: Windows Cannot Load Your Profile Because It May Be Corrupted
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...b;en-us;Q318011

    --
    All the Best,
    Kelly

    MS-MVP Win98/XP-Shell/User [AE-Windows
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    oh, great! <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15> Now I cannot even get the system to boot.
    I added a new user and rebooted and switched just fine. Went out on Net to research another PC problem. Norton AV updated. Logged off Net. (Dial up) I had to work on a PC I built for the church. APIC error. Installed My copy of XP to see if their copy of 2k was corrupt. had NIC cables connected and my PC plus the kids on. While XP was installing on church PC my PC started dialing out. Scan disk, AV scan AD-Aware scan, not problem. Unplugged NIC. Pause then redial attempt started again. Also, the kids PC just came on (WOL is not on -Windows ME). Church PC came up with different errors during install (keyboard yet I could use it and another) replaced the hard drive cable, problems gone. Meanwhile I have unplugged my PC from the phone line and it keeps trying to dial out. Late night, shutdown all PC's and figure I will deal with it during my lunch break or before teaching the next day (yesterday).
    Thur. try to boot my PC passes POST, starts Windows. - "bad system c:windowssystem" blah blach " insert XP disk and run recover. This gets me to the command prompt (c:windowssystem) but now what do I do? What diagnosis do I need to do? How do I run this "feature"?
    Did I mess things up with Norton AV 's update?
    Did I mess things up when 2 copies of XP with same Activation code on same SOHO network saw each other?
    Am I missing a Virus or Trojan that Norton and Ad-Aware missed? <img src=/S/sick.gif border=0 alt=sick width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    At this point, Kent, I'm not too sure about this basket-full of problems you're having. But, I think you need to BOOT your computer with the XP CD and (although I haven't had to do it) I think somewhere in the XP installation menu there should be a REPAIR option. As far as I know, you have to boot from the CD. Hopefully, you're not dead in the water, requiring a clean install.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    That is what I am talking about. I need to find out how to use the "Repair" option since it only takes me to the command prompt.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP lost profile (Pro straight up (not SP1))

    Sorry to be a pain, Kent, but am I reading your earlier post correctly:
    <hr>...try to boot my PC passes POST, starts Windows. - "bad system c:windowssystem" blah blach " insert XP disk and run recover. This gets me to the command prompt<hr>
    That sentence doesn't look to me like you booted from the CD? Be sure your BIOS is set to boot FIRST from CD, insert the Windows CD and cold or warm boot the computer.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •