Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    jrivett
    Guest

    Printing maxes CPU

    When I print anything in Win2K, my CPU maxes out until the job is completely spooled. While this is going on, everything else slows way down. This includes screen updates. I'm not using a Postscript driver. Also, I'm pretty sure this only started happening a few weeks ago; it didn't do this when I first installed Win2K.

    Ideas?

    Jeff

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Now-Luanda, Angola, Originally - Anna Bay, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    238
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Not sure it this is any help (I have been a win2k user for 6 hours now) but I noticed my CPU was maxed all the time while I have Receive Manager fro Cheyenne running - As soon as I closed it, CPU back to normal - I know this program has a fax printing capability (hence guess on printing issue) and wondered if you have similar set up[img]/w3timages/icons/clown.gif[/img]
    Dummy from Down Under <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Just some thoughts/questions:
    Network or local printer?
    Real-time virus scanning enabled?
    Bi-directional enabled?
    Anything in the event viewer?
    Does the printer troubleshooter throw up anything?

  4. #4
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Nothing like Cheyenne running, though I do have a couple of items in the System Tray, which I should turn off to see if that has any effect. Thanks.

  5. #5
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    It's a local printer, on LPT1. I don't use real-time virus software (hate it). Bi-directional printing is enabled. I tried disabling it via the system BIOS and it made no difference. Nothing printer-related in the event logs. The printer troubleshooter doesn't have anything relevant.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    have you installed any new software lately? like about the time the problems started?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    winntsystem32spoolprinters
    Anything in there?
    I've just run a check here and this folder is normally empty. As soon as you print, two files appear (nnnn.shd and nnnn.spl) - all quite normal - and the files dissappear quite quickly after the print is finished.

    Can you do the same and watch what is happening? Also, run TaskManager and see if any additional resources start up and/or what is hogging the CPU.

    Interestingly enough, the .spl file was described as a Shockwave type file .....

    Sorry - grasping at straws here. I personally find printing on W2K so much faster than on NT4 (same box).

  8. #8
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    I did install some software around that time. Hmmmm. Why the heck would EZCD4 affect printing? On the other hand, the VNC service...

  9. #9
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    No new processes are started, and the process that uses all the CPU is System. It goes to 96% and stays there until the printer starts to whir.

    As for the PRINTERS folder: it starts empty. When I print, the two spool files appear immediately. Then there is a substantial pause, during which time the CPU is maxed out. The moment the printer starts to whir, the two files disappear. If I hit refresh during the pause, I can see that the SPL file is growing, at least initially.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    i'd probably blame vnc - i don't have that installed on my network but do have ezcd4 and don't have a problem printing.

    is that computer a vnc client or server? is it slow with all print jobs or only some?

    i ask because i print to a network printer and some jobs take forever to print - docs are fast, images are slower than molasses. vnc might be imagining the printer is a network printer.

  11. #11
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    The machine in question is a VNC server. I'm running VNC as a service.

    All print jobs seem to be affected, but the bigger they are, the worse the problem is. Which makes sense - I wouldn't care that the CPU is maxed if it only stayed that way for a few seconds every time.

    I'm going to try turning off VNC to see what happens.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    If you still get problems check out this thread here in the WinMag2000 forum where you might get a clue.

  13. #13
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Turning off the VNC service had no effect. In fact, I turned off all my startup stuff and it made no difference to the printing problem.

  14. #14
    jrivett
    Guest

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Well, I tried making sure that LPT1 was using interrupts. First, I made sure the port was set to ECP in the BIOS (actually I think this only makes the port use a DMA channel, not an interrupt). Then in the Device Manager I changed the LPT1 settings so that it 'always uses an interrupt.' This had the effect of adding IRQ7 to the list of resources being used by the port. Unfortunately, it made no difference to the problem.

    Rats.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing maxes CPU

    Last stab:-
    Just checked the Adaptec/Roxio site.
    Only version 4.02 is supported on W2K - do you have the latest version?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •