Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    Can anyone offer any pointers to how to control SourceSafe in Access by automation using the RunCommand ?
    - I've found an article on MSDN saying that the VSS menu commands are not available in Access 97, use OLE Automation, but not found anything further

    I'm basically trying to automate the "Create Database from VSS" menu option

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    You don't create a new database from VSS while you have a database open, so where would you run your code? Since VSS is a developer tool, I don't understand what you would gain by automating this anyhow.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    Charlotte, I want to create the database based on the latest version in my VSS database

    If I do the process by hand, I don't have any database open, I open Access, then go to the Tools / Create Database from SourceSafe Project...

    I have some 30+ databases, with a lot of common components, e.g. a form for managing our ODBC connections. In VSS, I've shared the common components between the various VSS projects, so I only have to update a component in one, then I use the Create Database to create a new version of each database with the new component(s)

    Now this process can take quite a while (especially as there are others things to do, like create a zip file), so I'm trying out a product called FInalBuilder which can do things like check out latest version from VSS, create zip file etc. However it's not got any direct mechanism to do the Create Database (it's really aimed at VB, C#, C++, etc.) where it just needs to check out files, unlike the MDB creation, where it needs to check out the text files for the queries, forms, etc but also the binary that is the tables, and other bits

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    Sorry, but I don't know of any way but the hard way, which is the one we use. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    I've sort of solved it, using VBScript and AutoItX (the ActiveX version of AutoIt) for the control of the windows, dialogs, and sending key strokes
    - the AutoIt is much easier than than VBScript SendKeys, as it can do things like WaitWinActivate, i.e. wait for a specified window to become active

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    Are you aware that when you compact a VSS Access project, it asks if you want to remove it from Source Safe. We simply make a copy of the development database, compact it and remove it from VSS, and relink the tables (or change the connection) to the live database and deploy it to workstations. It seems to work pretty painlessly, and takes about 2 minutes.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, UK, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    Thanks for the response Wendell
    - yeap, spotted that Compact removes the VSS properties, actually I was wondering how I'd manage to do this, until I did a compact <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Have you seen any issues with Oracle linked tables <img src=/S/question.gif border=0 alt=question width=15 height=15>
    I rebuild a database from VSS, which had ODBC linked Oracle tables in, however at the time I did the rebuild, that Oracle database wasn't available.
    The mdb is the one I'm having problems with the IRR function, so that may be the cause

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: RunCommand and Visual SourceSafe (Access XP)

    We have only had one experience using Oracle linked tables, and that project didn't use VSS. However, if the tables aren't available when you rebuild from VSS you will definitely have problems with the Tables and Miscellaneous object.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •