Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: screencam

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    screencam

    I would like to know if there are any products in the market that do the same things as Lotus Screencam does.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: screencam

    It depends on which functionality you are looking for and how much you want to spend. Take a look at ViewletBuilder from Qarbon for a very cool screen demo tool. It is, however, $900 for a single-user license.

    The trial version creates a gigantic watermark on your file when it is compiled (see sample image capture below), but you can use it to see what the product does. Obviously the paid version would not do this!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    KTYorke
    Guest

    Re: screencam

    Amazingly enough... our company just ponied up for a copy of the new RoboDemo... guess who gets to play with it? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    I'm impressed by what it claims to offer but I'm getting a little frustrated by the user friendlyness of editing mouse clicks... When I edit something it just doesn't seem to click where and when I want. I think I just have to have one or two more days of playing to get the hang of it. I also just found out that importing it into RoboHelp HTML file is a little more involved than what they claim it is.
    The 7 day trial version from ehelp gives a great little watermark as well.... but it gives you a good idea of what you'll be getting.
    have fun

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: screencam

    Well, I can't resist - I've gotta ask. Is there some reason you don't want to consider the Lotus product? I haven't used it for quite awhile, but I just checked their web pages and the claim is that it will work under Win2000 and XP although there isn't a Screencam version SPECIFICALLY for either of those OSs.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    When I notice that Lotus/IBM is not going to get an updated version for its ScreenCam in W2K/XP, I get worried about its future. Will Lotus drop the product all together?

    Last night I did a search on the net and came up with a product called HyperCam from http://www.hyperionics.com/. It is a shareware and does the same thing as ScreenCam but it saves the file in AVI format, not player needed (which ScreenCam requires). You need to have W2k or XP with a fast machine in order to do full screen capture but I am impressed with its ease of use and quality. I am still playing with it right now. HyperCam is only US$30 a copy.

  6. #6
    KTYorke
    Guest

    Re: screencam

    One of the things that sold us on RoboDemo was that you could save the files in either EXE or SWF format... SWF being much smaller than the AVI and better to display on the web. This all depends on what you're using it for. We're incorporating our movies into help files so size is a factor.
    have fun

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    but RoboDemo costs more than 10 times what HyperCam does! You may be right that the file size will be much smaller. Do you find it easy to use? What about full screen capture? Any limit on the screen size, resolution, etc.?

    Thanks for the info.

  8. #8
    KTYorke
    Guest

    Re: screencam

    I understand about the price... but when the company's buying <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> We create online help files using RoboHelp and RoboHelp HTML so that was a big seller for us that it was compatible with those programs. We would very rarely need a stand alone Demo page.

    As for limits, nothing that I can see so far.... I've only been playing for about 2 days now. I have to do a demo for the rest of my department by Thursday so I'll have a better handle on it (hopefully) by then. The screen resolution ranges from 640x480 to 1152x864. You can customize the screen shot size that the cam captures and you can either set it to automatically record what you are doing or you can take shots manually as you go.

    I'd need a bit more time with it, but by Thursday I should better able to answer the ease of use of all the functions... as I said before the only thing I'm not understanding is moving the mouse pointer and getting it to click when and where I want it to... but I'm thinking it's more user error than anything at this point <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    have fun

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: screencam

    Well, you've got me intrigued! For those of us who don't have "big pockets," would you mind passing along further info as you continue your review of the product? The price is certainly good. What do you mean by a "fast machine;" will it handle more than 256 colors; what if I want to run it with 1024x768 mode or whatever; does the playback of a recording look good? Just any ol' thing you can think of to pass along would be nice! I'm in the process of reading their FAQ but it would be good to hear YOUR experience.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    Well, HyperCam costs only US$30 if you are getting to see the "unregistered" msg. It can handle higher resolution with more than 256 colors if you have, say Celeron 1.7Ghz, a good machine running W2K. I tried than on a Celeron 500Mhz with W98 and the resolution has to be kept low (800x600 or less) with 256 colors. Too big a screen is not going to with with W98 either because the program uses 3 threads under W2k to capture the motion.

    The playback is rather good except the AVI file could be large. I tried a 16 seconds clip and the AVI file was 1MB already. If RoBoDemo can do what it promises (10 times smaller file size than AVI), then it may be something to consider.

    Have you tried Lotus' ScreenCam on WinXP? Is the file size huge?

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    I just tried both RoboDemo and HyperCam on a 14-second clip using MS Access. HyperCam ends up with a 1.2MB file whereas RoboDemo generates a 184k Flash movie file. While there are a few more steps to do in RoboDemo (e.g. generating the movie, etc.), its movie quality is far more superior than HyperCam. I guess that is why you have to pay for a higher price.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: screencam

    <hr>Have you tried Lotus' ScreenCam on WinXP? Is the file size huge?<hr>
    No, sad to say I've not had a need since I retired a couple of years ago. Besides which, mine came as a part of the Lotus Suite three or four years ago, so I've never even tried to load it into Win XP. I think KT is on to something here, even though it's pricey! I watched a little of the Robo tutorials and it REALLY looks impressive. I guess if I were still active in the business world I'd have to consider it.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    You can try TechSmith's Camtasia . They're the ones who make SnagIt.
    Pyramid Productions has one called Screen Cam .
    Xstream makes a seriously funky recorder that doubles as a simulation/CBT building tool (or is that the other way 'round?). It might be a bit much for you needs, but check out RapidBuilder .

    So, what the heck happened to Microsoft Camcorder?

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: screencam

    Camcorder was kind of buggy and made unwieldy files. Other than that, I can't imagine why it was discontinued.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: screencam

    <hr>was kind of buggy and made unwieldy files<hr>
    Oh, so it's kind of like, say.....Office? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •