Lounger
    Thanks

Restricted user access to report/query-definition (A97)

The users of my Access 97 database want more power regarding data access and reporting. Thus I have the following questions:

1. How can I allow users to change the layout of reports or create (and store) new reports themselves, but forbid access to the codemodule?

2. How can I allow users to create (and store) new (selection-)queries themselves, but have the resulting datasheet always be writeprotected? Also they should not be able to create or run action queries.

3. Are there any exisiting 3rd-party AddIns for these tasks?

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Restricted user access to report/query-definition (A97)

I know this doesn't help you very much, but in access 2000 you can password protect your code modules.

As to your other questions, you may be able to do some of what you want with access security. However I have no experience with this I'm afraid.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

The answers are that you can't, and to my knowledge, there are no add-ins to allow it. If you use Access security, you can specify the particular objects that a particular user or group has permissions on, but that's the extent of your control. You can't specify the kind of queries they can create and there is no way that I know of to force the results of a query to be read only to its creator. If your users want to be able to modify the application themselves, then you don't have any means of preventing them from breaking it. Your only alternative is to give each of them their own front end (you do have a split front-end/back-end, right?) and allow them to do their modifying on their own copy. I can guarantee that their tinkering will break the application because I've seen that sort of thing happen repeatedly.