Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    Is there any way to set the Tools > Word Count > "Include footnotes and endnotes" option as the default for ALL the documents my attorneys open? I tried setting it to be "on" in Normal.dot, which works for new blank docs, but if the user opens an existing document it's usually set to "off." I know it's only one mouse click more to enable it <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15>, but some of our more vocal attorneys are griping and I just want them off my back [another sigh]...your help is greatly appreciated!

    Andre Madar

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    You can put a tiny AutoOpen macro in their Normal.dot to flip the switch. I don't have XP, so I'm not sure what the code would be. It might be revealed to you if you record a macro of setting that option.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    That's a weird thing I forgot to mention -- when I try to record a macro that flips the "include" switch, no code is actually recorded! It's as though performing a word count doesn't involve any of Word's usual methods or properties... <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> Andre

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    Okay, using MSDN I found this page: ComputeStatistics Method. If the setting is "sticky," you could do something like this:

    Sub AutoOpen()
    ActiveDocument.ComputeStatistics(wdStatisticWords, True)
    End Sub

    This might delay the user's ability to edit by a bit, which might be annoying. His choice, right?

    Or you could add a new menu item, or override the native Word Count menu item, or create a toolbar button to run that macro. In that case, you'll need at least a message box to display the count:

    Sub AllWordInDoc()
    MsgBox ActiveDocument.ComputeStatistics(wdStatisticWords, True)
    End Sub

    Trade-offs for each approach.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    Great, this is really helpful -- I've set up another menu item below the built-in Word Count command that lets the user run this simple macro on demand. (I might even craft my own replacement Word Count dialog based on the info from the MSDN page you referenced.)

    Thanks again,
    Andre Madar

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    Andre,

    The following code should do it - if you place this macro in the attorney's Normal.dot, it will intercept the built-in ToolsWordCount command (note though that I don't have XP so have only tested it in 2000 - should work the same though).

    <pre>Public Sub ToolsWordCount()
    With Dialogs(wdDialogToolsWordCount)
    .CountFootnotes = True
    .Show
    End With
    End Sub
    </pre>

    Gary

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Set word count 'include footnotes' as default? (2002 SP1)

    Thanks for the sample code; anything to minimize attorney confusion (such as a simple replacement of the accustomed dialog box) is very helpful.... <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •