Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Netbios

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Netbios

    What is Netbios for? Could I disable it if I wanted to without impacting my solo non-networked system?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Netbios

    NetBIOS is an older, "noisy" network protocol. If you're standalone, I would definitely disable it. Even in a networked situation, NetBIOS offers little in the way of advantages, but alone....it offers none.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Netbios

    Do you mean NetBIOS or NetBEUI?

    Microsoft NetBEUI is a network protocol, which you definitely won't need on a standalone PC. You add and remove it in the same way as other network protocols such as TCP/IP.

    NetBIOS is an API that some software uses to communicate with the network. It was originally used with NetBEUI but can also be used with TCP/IP (TCP/IP Properties > NetBIOS > "I want to enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP"). You probably don't need this either!

    StuartR

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Netbios

    I meant NetBios. I'm running WIn2K Pro SP3. I tired to stop the running NetBios service so I could then disable it. But the system won't allow me to do this (I was not logged on at the time and just did a reboot).

    This is the driver file:
    System32DRIVERSnetbios.sys

    This is the message I get:
    Service refused to stop
    Error code is 997, "Overlapped I/O operation is in progress."

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Netbios

    Strange, I just checked on my W2K SP2 Server and I don't have a NETBIOS service, even though I have NETBIOS enabled in TCP/IP Properties > Advanced.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Netbios

    Edited by WyllyWylly to add URL code. See the Quick Guide. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Well, it's not exactly a service, it's a kernal device. You can use the free SVRADMIN program available at the link below to see more than just simple services that are running on your system:

    http://www.hhdsoftware.com/srvadmin.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •