Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

No Internet connection

I'm at wit's end. Today I connected my new home network. I use two XP machines, a Motorola SB4200 cable modem, and a Linksys BEFSR41 cable router. My ISP is Adelphia.net. History: I went to cable modem about a week ago. It ran fine on computer A. Then I bought computer B to replace Computer A at my home office desk. Computer A went downstairs for my wife to use. The cable modem worked great with Computer B. Then today I tried to connect everything, and I have mixed results.

The home network works fine. I can see files on both computers from either location. But I don't have Internet access! None! I'm new at this, and although I've tried to read the installation instructions carefully, I still can't get onto the Internet. To write this post, I had to reconnect Computer B directly to the modem. (I also had to fiddle with my Network and Internet Connections settings in Control Panel, and then I had to restart my computer to get it to recognize my modem's settings!) So anyway: What do I need to look for? I'll bet it's something simple and obvious! Thanks!

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: No Internet connection

I have the same router. Remember, you have to put your ISP's gateway and DNS IP numbers in the router, along with your assigned IP address. At least that's what I did since I don't use DHCP on my small LAN. I'm thinking it's your router settings only because you said that Computer B worked fine with the cable modem directly.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks