Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Boot Problem

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Boot Problem

    For the last two days when I start my computer and Windows starts to boot, I'm stopped at a C prompt and have to type WIN to get Windows to load.

    I don't know what happened or why this change has occurred, but I don't want to have to type anything. Will some one please tell me how to correct this?

    I will appreciate any and all suggestions.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem

    For starters, while I think about this and we wait to see if anyone else has something to add, try this. I'm sure that your file WIN.COM is OK and in the Windows directory or you wouldn't be able to get Windows to run manually. There is a file in the root directory of your C: drive, called MSDOS.SYS. You need to look at this file to see what it contains (or doesn't contain, as the case may be). This is a system file, so if you "edit" the file, you'll of course have to reboot afterward. Make sure the file contains some lines that look like this:

    [Paths]
    WinDir=C:WINDOWS
    WinBootDir=C:WINDOWS
    HostWinBootDrv=C

    [Options]
    BootMulti=0
    BootGUI=1
    DoubleBuffer=1
    AutoScan=1
    Logo=0
    WinVer=4.10.2222

    The first three lines after [paths] are super-important, as is the one that says BOOTGUI=1. You may not have all the same lines I do.

    Let us know what you find.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    This is to let you know that I received the e-mail announcing that you had replied to my post, and I thank you for replying so swiftly.
    I will look at the MSDOS.SYS file in the morning and let you know what I find. I've been there before so I know what to look for.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    I changed my mind and did what you suggested tonight. This is what I found:

    The files under Paths were exactly the way they should be.

    Under Options:
    BootMulti=0

    BootGUI=1

    DoubleBuffer=1

    AutoScan=1 (added this)

    Logo=0

    WinVer=4.10.2222

    BootMenuDelay=10 (This was there, should it be?)

    BootMenu=1 (This was there too. should it be?)

    Clicked SAVE and re-booted. When Windows started, the problem was gone. No need to type WIN at the C prompt.

    And I can't begin to thank you enough. I have questions.. What does BootGUI mean and what does it do? Does AutoScan mean that when Windows is shut down incorrectly, that Scan Disk will automatically run?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem

    Good deal, glad it started correctly, although it's a mystery why it did! The elements you added to be consistent with mine are not necessary, but it's OK once you understand what they are. The really important one (I think) is the BootGUI=1 statement. It tells Windows to run the "graphical" user interface, that is, the Windows we're used to seeing. Yes, the AutoScan entry "forces" a scandisk after an abnormal shutdown. The entry isn't needed because it's the default. One time I turned it to 0 (zero) to stop scandisk from running, but later changed my mind and set it back to 1. You could delete the two BootMenu.... entries if you want. Are they causing a "choice" menu to come up when Windows starts? Neither entry is necessary, but if you're satisfied with the way things are, you might just leave things alone. You know the ol' adage..... Glad you're back in business!

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    I would add that while I like the BootMenu to be displayed, I think 10 secs is a long time. 2-3 secs is problably long enough.

    If anyone is interested (not likely!!), MS created a "User Interface" to modify the msdos.sys file. To me, this is only of value if you need to repetitive modify the file, or modify it on multiple systems...

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    Thank you R2 for your comment. I prefer a short time too. Although I've set the boot time to 10 seconds, when Windows loads, it starts the count down sequence at 30 seconds and I haven't been able to change it any lower. Even setting the time in TweakUI has no effect.

    The reason I don't set it any lower is that sometimes I can't stop it on time and have to boot again to catch it. I'm not as young or as fast as I used to be (snicker).

    Any suggestions about fixing that?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    >>I have questions.. What does BootGUI mean and what does it do?<<
    Boot to Graphical user interface. I believe that's what boot' to windows, rather than having to type win at the DOS prompt.

    >>Does AutoScan mean that when Windows is shut down incorrectly, that Scan Disk will automatically run?<<
    0= never
    1= after prompting
    2= without prompting

    Cheers,

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    You are saying that Windows ignores the "time" setting that you supplied for BootMenuDelay?? This would be distinctly atypical. I believe... The DEFAULT value is 30, so I have to wonder if you have some error in your file.

    Can you paste the entire contents of your msdos.sys file???

    For the BootMenuDelay to be active, you need to specify BootMenu=1 -- if it is not already stated.

    Another possibility is this:

    "If... WINBOOT.INI file is also present in the root directory of the boot drive (usually C, MSDOS.SYS is automatically bypassed by the Win9x/ME bootup routine!" (axcel).

    Do you have a file named Winboot.ini??

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    [Paths]
    WinDir=C:WINDOWS
    WinBootDir=C:WINDOWS
    HostWinBootDrv=C

    [Options]
    BootMulti=0
    BootGUI=1
    DoubleBuffer=1
    AutoScan=1
    Logo=0
    WinVer=4.10.2222
    BootMenu=1
    BootMenuDelay=10

    Here's the information you requested. As you can see I don't have WinBoot. Should it be there?

    I know the default time for booting is 30 but as I said, I can't change it.

    Thanks for the response, I'm looking forward to your next one.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    Winboot.ini is a long shot, but you never know... It will not be inside the msdos.sys file, but instead it will be a separate file on your C:/ drive. Open a Find/Search box and search for a file named "winboot.ini".

    The point is that "winboot.ini" will over-ride your settings in "msdos.sys". So, if winboot.ini says 30 seconds, then modifying the value in msdos.sys will be useless...

    I see you clearly have BootMenu=1 -- so that cannot be an issue.
    AutoScan=1 is the default, so no issue there.
    Logo=0 simply knocks out the startup Windows logo.

    I am not sure if you need "Double Buffering" or not, but also do not believe it is part of the problem. Maybe some one with a strong opinion on the topic could address it?

    I suspect you have a little more to that file?? Something like this:

    ;The following lines are required for compatibility with other programs.
    ;Do not remove them (MSDOS.SYS needs to be >1024 bytes).
    ;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxa
    ;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxb
    ;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxc

    Because if the file is too small, it might be ignored also...

    Otherwise I don't see any more issues. [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem

    This is gonna sound crazy, but we've all done strange things sometimes to get Windows to shape up, haven't we? But first, R2 makes a good point! You DO have those standard closing lines in your file don't you?

    Why don't you try commenting out these two lines, like this:

    ; BootMenu=1
    ; BootMenuDelay=10

    Save the file and boot the system once WITHOUT the menu. Assuming that goes OK, take the semicolon and space if you use it, back out of the file and re-boot again. Maybe Windows justs needs something different to think about and this might wake it up. Probably much too long a shot, but what the heck..... (You could leave the BootMenu=0 in instead, of course)

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    Don't sell your idea short! Sometimes that type of fix is exactly what Windows needs. It is certainly worth a try!

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Boot Problem

    I don't have anthing under the files that I posted. Should I add the lines exactly as shown in your post? Should there be double spacing?

    Logo=0 Hasn't knocked out the logo screen, so that's being ignored too. But that's a small thing and really not that important.

    I'll check winboot.ini this afternoon and make changes if necessary.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Boot Problem

    Ooh Boy! If I understand your last post, I hope you may have just found the answer for the "ignored" lines. If you meant the R2 post about "The following lines....." etc., that could be it. Copy and paste his lines at the end of your file and save it to see what happens.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •