Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    I'm running XP Home and have an odd problem.

    I can connect once, and only once to the internet, during each boot. To connect again, I need to do a cold re-boot of Windows.

    I've been blaming my ISP (ntl:home, who are in most respects completely useless) but I've managed to connect repeatedly with both WinME and Linux machines. It isn't the modem, since I've used two PCI hardware and one AMR software modems with identical results.

    Then there was the possibility of software conflicts. So I rebooted with everything in msconfig disabled. Still no joy.

    I've searched through the forum, but couldn't find anyone with the same problem. Which either means I'm the only one who's encountered it, or the only one who's not figured it out by himself. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    So, can anyone shed some light on this problem? Or suggest anything else I can try?

    Thanks in Advance,

    Adrian

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Was this an upgrade from a prior OS? Do you have SP-1 applied? Do you have XP drivers for the modems? What happens - no dialing, Dials but no connection, unable to login in to ISP, dropped after connection? Any error messages?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Hi Joe.

    Sorry, I've told this to so many people, so many times that I forgot to give all the symptoms. :-/

    Clean install (twice) of XP Home.

    Had the problem before SP-1, after installing it and still after uninstalling SP-1. (SP-1 added to the problem by re-booting my machine every half hour. )

    Installed XP drivers for each of the modems. Yes.

    The modem dials, connects and then transfers some data (usually sends about 1600 bytes and receives about 150) Then all data stops. Nothing goes either way. On re-booting, I can connect normally.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Does the modem on the XP machine have the same configuration parameters as the one on the ME machine? You may have to change the initialization string to reset the modem initially.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    They're two different modems.

    ME has a Conexant HCF 56k modem, XP has an Intel 536EP modem (or chipset anyway).

    Neither has any intialization strings set. The Conexant modem works fine under ME, but gives the same problems as the Intel one under XP.

    Adrian

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    I'm wondering about the obvious - so obvious that you may not have thought to try it. Have you a) swapped cables to see if the cable is possibly faulty, or [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] tried a different modem? Failing that, try connecting the modem on a different port? I really don't think this is an XP-specific problem based on what the information you've provided, although it is possible.

    Edited to add: Also, is this an internal modem connted via PCI/ISA, or an external? Can you provide specifics as it relates to the modem's model number, the type of system you are running XP on, relevant hardware details?
    -Mark

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Swapped cables, changed port numbers, used three different modems (and two motherboards) with the same results.

    They're internal modems, I've added the types in my reply to Joe. (I'm not sure about the AMR WinModem, that's been consigned to the box of bits [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    Adrian

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Adrian,
    Are you using the XP firewall? Try turning it off if you are. Are you using any sort of Proxy server or VPN connection?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Adrian - are the connections configured the same on the two different machines: authentication, security, TCP/IP, etc.?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Hi Joe,

    Sorry about the delay, had to go out and drink beer. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    I'm not using the XP firewall, but I am using ZoneAlarm. Turning it off has no effect. Nor am I using VPN or a Proxy.

    Both connections are configured exactly the same way.

    Adrian

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Adrian - Is the disconnection because you choose it or does the ISP drop? Has the PC gone into standby or hibernation in between connection attempts? In the device manager you should right click the modem, select Properties | Power management. Make sure 'Allow the computer to turn this device off to save power' in unchecked.
    Joe

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    It doesn't make any difference whether the ISP drops the line or I do.

    This machine runs 24/7, I don't put it into standby or hibernation. The Power Management checkbox is unchecked.

    There doesn't need to be a long gap between disconnection and re-connection. If I re-connect immediately, it fails. If I wait an hour or a day, it fails.

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Adrian, Try right clicking on My network places. Then right click the dialup network connection and select properties. Then click repair. Might get you by. Have you tried some other dialup connection other than the ISP when it fails. Maybe Hyperterminal. You could try to connect to your ISP. You could also hunt up some freeware dialup tool that may log what has happened to the point of failure.

    Joe
    Joe

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Edgware, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Joe,

    Could you explain that a bit more. I think you've missed a step out.

    Right clicking on My Network places doesn't give me a DUN connection to select.

    If I open up the Network Connection folder, I can right click on my dialup connection and select Properties, but there's no option to repair it.

    The only place I get a repair is in the menu when I right click on my LAN connection. Should the DUN menu have the Repair option too?

    Getting more confused,
    Adrian

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,579
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Dial Up Networking problems (XP Home)

    Adrian, You're correct I left out a step of selecting properties after right click of My Network Places. Sorry, a bit of a brain cramp. I wasn't sure if the DUN menu would have the repair option or not. Here at work I don't have an XP machine with a dialup connection to test. Can you try a different dialer like HyperTeminal?

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •