Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Administrator Password (XPHome)

    I understand, at least in principle, the way the Administrator account works in XPH - that it is normally hidden, that you can rename it and password protect it etc., and that you can invoke it by starting XPH in safe mode. I also understand that all the user accounts you create have admin rights by default and that you can control these as well.

    I have just found out that another use of Administrator is when using the Recovery Consol. This asks for a password for the Administrator, but will quietly use the renamed account if that is what you have done. There has never been a revised password set on my PC, and it should therefore be blank. My PC will not accept a blank password either for the RC or for a "safe" startup. If I positively set a password, it wont accept that either.

    Any ideas?

    Mike C

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    I don't know if it is available on Windows XP, but Windows 2000 SP2 included a utility called SETPWD.EXE which can be used to change the recovery console password (see How to Change the Recovery Console Administrator Password on a Domain Controller in the Microsoft Knowledge Base)

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    61
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    I don't have any advice, just a comment. From a fellow "victom"?

    Is your computer a Dell?
    My Dell crashed and I also found, when attempting a recovery (even while following Dell tech help step-by-step), that I couldn't get past the password request. Nothing I tried would work; Dell rep had no idea either. After profuse apologies, he admitted that I had no recourse but to reformat the C: drive.

    So it APPEARS that Dell, when setting up their machines, installs a password, then makes no record of it, and doesn't inform the future owner--thus completely defeating the purpose of the recovery console.

    Is this a legitimate complaint against Dell? Do other people have this problem too?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    I had exactly the same issue crop up when helping a friend who had just gotten a nice shiny new Dell...and their support was worthless on this one. End result: I formatted his drive and created my own password, and wrote it down for safe-keeping. My wont is to do that with any OEM system that I have the misfortune to run across, simply to remove their bloat and set it up the way I prefer.

    Some solution after you've already moved in <img src=/S/sarcasm.gif border=0 alt=sarcasm width=15 height=15> but maybe something to file away for a future date...
    -Mark

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    Never replied to one of my own postings before, but I have been offered a reply that works, though is clumsy and may be capable of refinement.

    It was put to me that Microsoft know of this as a bug, and there is a work around. There is an article in the Knowledge Base - 310994 - which tells you how to set up 6 floppy boot disks. One set of which is for SP1 which my installation is. If you create that set and then load them all the way through to the end - a process which is the same as slow booting from the CD - at the end it does accept a blank password. For each new floppy disk it says hit any key, but you need to hit any key and then enter.

    Dind't help, but I got in!

    Mike C

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    Surprised you got that article - you must've got there just in time. The response NOW is that the article isn't available because they're migrating to the new numbering system. The reason I write is to ask/tell.remind you of something. When you say you "GOT IN," do you mean that the floppy procedure did get you logged in as Administrator or did it run the RC?

    The reason I ask is that there is another MS article that tells how to "recover" a lost or forgotten password, but you have to be logged in to make the floppy.. I'm not gonna try to find the article unless you want it, because of that message I just got from their web site.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    i have a phantom administrator on my XPPRO machine ... i never set up an Administrator account when i got my laptop, but when i tried to go to Recovery Console, it asks for a password and my typical one -- just hitting the enter key -- does not work ... so, i called toshiba and they suggested to go to safe mode and delete the administrator account and then go back into regular windows and add a new account named administrator ...

    well, i was able to delete the admin profile in safe mode, but XP won't let me add the Administrator account back, saying it's already there (even tho it is no longer listed as a user!) ... so, now i can't get to admin account AND even if i did i have no idea what the password is ... is there a default password? is there a way to recover my admin profile?

    so, any help on this would be greatly appreciated! (toshiba said the only thing that i can do now is start over from scratch, which i'd rather not do!)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    When you did the delete and then an add attempt, were you in Computer Management (attachment) or Users in Control Panel? Depending on whether you use the Welcome Screen, the Users app probably won't cooperate (I think). The sad thing is that so MANY people have troubles with the built-in Administrator account, I wish the XP install process did a little MORE explaining up-front about what to do or not do - particularly in the area of password assignment!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    i used user accounts in control panel ... where do i get Computer Management?

    also, i have XP Pro ... does that system work different than XPH in this area?

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    I meant that at the end of loading the floppies I was able to select "1. c:windows" as my operating system and use enter to give it my <blank> password which it accepted and put me into recovery consol mode. I was able, for example to run chkdsk on the c:drive which I had had trouble doing. I will look up the download file name tonight and put it into this discussion chain.

    I have loaded Recovery consol onto my hard disk as a bootable option. What it did not do was update that in any way so a blank password only seems to work at the end of the floppy load.

    M

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    Dont think so - my machine is not a Dell, and the workaround I have posted means it does accept a blank password when ready for it. It is a bug....

    M

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    269
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    Yes Pro and Home are different in this regard. I think that with Pro you can genuinely sign on as the "administrator" but with Home it is a hidden account.

    M

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    well, it's a hidden account for me now! any way, to resurrect that account (remember, i deleted the administor account, but a phantom account is still there, since i cannot now add a new account named Administrator)? and, what's the story on the floppies? where do i get the files to put on them, and do i need to use them each time i try to access the phantom Administrator?

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    Computer Management is in Control Panel, Administrative Tools. See what YOUR list of Users says in there and post back.

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Administrator Password (XPHome)

    my machine is at home and i'm at work now, so i'll update you tommorrow ... thanks for your help

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •