Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    A friend has an old applicatiion which relies on linked tables in DB3 format. He has a working copy of DB3, and I can get to the dot prompt. I need to see the layouts of the DB3 files. Does anyone have information on the command to see the layouts of the files? Just to make it more interesting, possibly one of the files is corrupt. This should be fun.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    You mention that they are linked tables to DB3 files. I would have thought to just select a linked DB3 table and go into design view. Or is this not what you mean?
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    What DB3 are we talking about? Is this the Berkeley DB, Unix/Linux/Solaris/etc?
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    My memory says the DB3 is from Ashton-Tate. Does that sound feasible?

    This is really interesting. One of the DB3 files was 9008KB!!! Obviously, a problem there. I was able to read the structure information in Access, but cannot modify it, so I need to modify it via DB3. Don't know if I will need it, but would like to know how to open the file structure from DB3 dot prompt. I could open the file via a query in Access, but could not open it directly from the table. I imported the file to Access, and then re-exported it, and it looks normal, 165 KB.

    My plan is to import all of the files, then re-export them as Access files in a be database.

    Comments?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    Sounds very reasonable to me - that would be dBase 3 as I recall. Your approach should work, in fact you should be able to run make-table queries from the dBase tables to create the equivalent table in Access and then simply link to them. Obviously you either have one large table at 9 Megabytes, or it has not been compacted, probably the latter.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    Except in dBase, files were packed, not compacted.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    When you said it was old, I suspected you might be talking about dBase III rather than DB3, which is a different thing altogether. dBase was from Ashton-Tate back then, although Borlund acquired it later. If the file is 9Mb, you could import it into Access and change the structure there, although the import might be on the slow side. I don't understand why you need to change it in dBase first. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    I imported the file. It was only 165 KB after the import!! As best as I can tell, he is maintaining these dBase III files in order to use some old DOS print program. The solution is to leave the files in Access, and write the reports to be able to print from Access. Then we can get rid of all of this.

    You are right, though. It doesn't look like I will have any need to open the files in dBase III.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    I can't change properties of the dBase files in Access. To do that, it looks like I need to get to the files via dBase III. Does anyone know how to modify the structure from the dot prompt in dBase III?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    No, but why? It would be much simpler to either import the tables (not link to them) and then modify them in Access, which is what I thought your earlier message said you were going to do. What did I miss?
    Wendell

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    If you really want to change the structure of the dBase III files this is how you do it from the dot prompt: (I'd suggest a backup before you begin)
    1. type - USE filename (where filename is the name of the file you want to modify)
    2. type - MODIFY STRUCTURE ( this will bring you into a file edit mode - if you want to just look at the structure type DISP STRU)
    3. to add a field arrow down to bottom and enter field name, type, length - to save changes do ctl/W if you don't want to save Esc
    4. to insert a field between two go to bottom field and ctl/N
    4. to modify a field arrow down and overwrite followed by either ctl/W or Esc
    5. to view/edit the data record by record type EDIT
    6. type QUIT to exit dBase III

    All these commands are entered at the dot prompt and followed by the Enter key

    Hope this helps.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    My friend has his reasons for not wanting to change the files to Access permanently. I thought it would be safer just to make the minor modifications directly in dBase. If it is safe to move these files in and out of one format to another, then I can do it in Access and re-export to dBase. What do you think?

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    If you can change the structure in DB3 then what's the point of exporting to Access and back again to DB3?
    Pat <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    This is the dBase file that was 9000KB in size. When I imported it to Access and then exported it back to dBase, it went back to 165KB. I did that to see if the file would become usable again. I had no idea of what was in the file, nor of it's structure at that time. Now that I can see it, I want to make a few changes. In my ignorance, I was thinking that it was better to just work with the structure in dBase, rather than moving it back and forth between dBase and Access.

    Sorry for all of the confusion.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: DB3 commands (Win ME/Access 97)

    There is a PACK command in dBase that does the equivalent of compacting the database. It also removes any records that have been flagged for deletion. It sounds like your friend should learn how to use dBase properly if he's going to insist on maintaining and application in it ... in spite of the fact that there are better and easier ways to do it in Access.
    Charlotte

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •