Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ft. Washington, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Is it just me, or have others been seeing the M-Soft Critical Update for the MDAC 2.1 security fix (Q329414) notification every day? I ran it first time it showed up, and it said it had installed successfully, but the notice has come around again (like Alice's Restaurant) every day since then. I asked MS what's up and they told me to use the advice-for-a-fee service. Sure.

    I realize I could stop the automatic query from my machine asking if there are any new critical updates, but I wouldn't want to miss a "real" one.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    If you have installed the fix (does it show up in add/remove programs?) and it shows up w windows update anyway, you can uncheck the update (or any other that you don't want to install) from "Personalize Windows Update". Why windows is not seeing that you've installed it I don't know.....

    kip

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Seems to me I've read some things, either here in the Lounge or in e-zines and newsletters, about problems with the Update sites at MS. I was setting up a new laptop for someone yesterday and had a problem with the MS Update site. I was only going after critical updates and there were four of them. Don't remember now if your number was among them. I would start the "download" after selecting the four and it would hang with no activity for a LONG time. It was impossible to stop the process, so I had to reboot and try again. I eventually got all four, but only after selecting them one at a time. I always turn off automatic updates, so I won't know if the same ones try to load in the future as the laptop is used.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Just read in an MS newsgroup that applying the December cumulative patch for IE 6 SP1 fixed this problem for one fellow. Also, saw this in another post

    'If your version of MSADCE.DLL is 2.53.6202.0 or higher, add the following
    > Registry Key and Value:
    >
    > [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftUpdatesDataAcce ssQ329414-21]
    >
    > "IsInstalled"=dword:00000001

    AND yet one post

    'Hi,

    Microsoft has isolated the problem with Windows Update and after tomorrow
    the Windows Update should no longer get in a loop of continually expecting
    to install Q329414.

    Best regards,

    Dan Kirby
    Microsoft Corporation'


    '
    So, take your pick

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ft. Washington, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Even as I type this note, the new December Patch (Q324929) is ever so slooooowly D/Ling onto my machine. It was the only update in this mornings critical update. I'll let you know after it is installed.....

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ft. Washington, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    All is well (presumably)... after update installed, went to the MS Windows Update page and after a little while was told that there were no critical updates. (I can hardly wait until tomorrow...)

    Also took a look at the registry, but saw nothing like the suggestion in your previous note. Probably makes no difference anyway. There were a couple of similar entries for earlier updates of MDAC components.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Check in IE>Help>About Internet Explorer...mine shows the newly updated PITA updates listed <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> !
    Also, always remember to disable your firewall before d/ling any updates...I never did before w/old updates site...but now with the 'new' site, I have to remember to do that !

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ft. Washington, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    Curious about your Firewall comment. I've been running Zone Alarm (it has been told that anything IE does is just fine with it) and haven't had any problem D/Ling those various "critical updates". Judging from the number of stray hits/probes/whatevers that Zone Alarm regularly fends off, I am kinda leery about *ever* disabeling it, (even when my phone line is hung up...!)

    And yeah, my IE | Help | About... now shows Q324929 (the newest one - when will it ever end...?) in place.

    What Microsoft taketh away, Microsoft giveth back - eventually.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> ...I had always kept my firewall enabled when doing downloads with never a problem...but since they 'updated' <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> the update site, I found that I HAD to disable my firewall in order to get those updates installed, etc. Of course...as soon as I had downloaded and installed the update and rebooted...that firewall got enabled sooooo fast <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>...and since I am on cable...cold sweat was always nearby, just waiting for some <IMG SRC=http://users.adelphia.net/~nanalonnie/images/Gifs/All/troll.gif> to be lurking somewhere, just waiting for an open port!
    My computer is on 24/7...and my firewall and antivirus (Norton products) are 99.999% always enabled.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    I am using ZoneAlarm (free version) and am NOT having any problems in getting the Windows XP updates on 4 different machines.

    Do you gave any "scrip blockers " including pop up and pop under types? These will block the full function at the Windows update site. If so turn them off and give it a try.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Critical Update, over, and over, and...

    I too use Zone Alarm and I have been procrastinating on THIS (my primary) machine on critical XP updates. I just bit the bullet and updated, four critical updates, and didn't have any problems either. As I said in my earlier post, I don't use Automatic and have not had any problems with repeating updates.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •