Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    sound card in use

    (I'm new to the lounge, so I hope I'm doing this right.) Sometimes a program with sound will tie up my sound card, so other sounds won't play. Is there a way to free up the sound card without rebooting?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    What program has hold of the sound card?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    Thanks for the response. Here's what happens: I'll play a Java script game on a web site (lately it's Bounce Out on Yahoo games). Then when I run something with sound, like an AVI file, I get no sound. To check it out I went to Control Panel > Sounds, and tried to play a sound, and I got a message saying Windows could not play the sound, that my sound card may be in use. I understand (more or less) how this happens, and that something has been loaded into RAM (a Java plug-in gets loaded when I open the game) which is still there even when I stop playing the game. I'd like to know if there is some way I can free up the sound card without rebooting.

    I don't know if this matters, but I just went back to the game page. It loaded another Java plug-in, and now the game has no sound either.

    -Stuart

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: sound card in use

    You should wait to see if another Lounger has an answer for you, 'cause I admit I don't either. I run into this (or a similar) problem whenever I use the Yahoo Stat Tracker for my fantasy football league. Sound isn't involved, but that JVM (or whatever it is) running in my Tray does disturb a few other things and the only way I've found to turn it loose is a REBOOT, I'm afraid. Anybody else got any ideas?

    It's kinda like the doctor said about "it hurts when I do this, doctor." Answer: "Don't do that any more!" <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31>

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    Thanks, Big Al. It's not like rebooting is so terrible, but it would be a nice if there was another way to get sound back.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    I'm guessing at this, too, but what if you just Ctrl+Alt+Del to see what's running & then end task on things, one at a time. If this works, it's faster than rebooting.
    Hope this helps,

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    Phil, that seemed like a good idea, but I checked it out and there's nothing in the task list after I opened the game that wasn't there before I opened it.

    -Stuart

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    That may be, but it still can't hurt to end task on things one at a time. I leave only Explorer & systray running as bare bones.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: sound card in use

    That's a good idea - I know that the less in the system tray, the better the system will run. I'll try that, and see if it solves the sound problem too - Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •