Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Failed install (XP Pro)

    I've been trying to install this for a few days, changing this & that along the way, all to no avail. I boot from the CD, let it run through the normal options, it does a scan disk, copies files etc, until it gets to "Starting windows", when it just gives me a blank screen! I have tried leaving it, did that for an hour, but no difference. Maybe It's the graphics card?
    Anyway here's my spec;
    Abit KT7 RAID (RAID neither connected to or enabled)
    256Mb Crucial RAM
    128Mb Ti4200 GF4
    Bog standard PCI Soundblaster soundcard
    4.3Gb WD HD
    No name DVD
    Philips CDR/W
    Diamond SupraExpress Pro external modem
    Cheap k/board & mouse

    Ideas , anyone?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    Just a small suggestion. You mention that you have Abit KT7 RAID. This comes with a driver disk. When you are installing Windows it gives you an opportunity to provide a SCSI disk driver, even though this is not a SCSI disk it wants the RAID floppy at that point.

    I can't remember the exact point where Windows offers this option, but I think it tells you to to press the F6 key to install a SCSI disk driver.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    How much free space on that HD?

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    Some suggestions:
    <UL><LI>Remove all hardware except for video and one single stick of RAM. Try installing with the bare minimum of components to eliminate the possibility of hardware flakiness. If the problem persists in this configuration, swap the IDE cable.
    <LI>Make sure you have the most recent BIOS available for the motherboard and that you are using BIOS defaults without any speed tweaks.
    <LI>Try copying the CD's i386 folder to a hard drive partition and installing from there.
    <LI>Make sure that all of your hardware is on the Hardware Compatibility List.[/list]And of course, don't forget to review the other posts as well. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    Also: to avoid possible complications with removable media in the future, connect CD-RW before DVD in the following order: primary master, primary slave, secondary master, secondary slave, SCSI ID=0, SCSI ID=1, etc. (i.e. for IDE drives, connect CD-RW as primary slave and DVD as secondary master - the best solution, or CD-RW as secondary master and DVD as secondary slave - but such configuration is not allow to copy CD to CD; if you have SCSI CD-RW and IDE DVD, disconnect DVD and make installation and connect DVD after that).

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    Mark's suggestion about bare bones hardware FIRST. But, Viking hit on it, my friend, you're gonna have trouble with a 4 gig hard drive and you might be now! I don't know how much space XP uses for temporary files during installing, but THAT could be a problem. Better get a BIGGER drive, as soon as possible.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Failed install (XP Pro)

    Ah if only that were the problem, unfortunately I had the same difficulties trying to do it on my 60Gb drive. Ho hum [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]
    I haven't had chance to have another go yet, but when I do I'll be doing it on a bare bones as suggested.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •