Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    Hi, I would search on the forum for hints to this, but i have no idea what text to search on ....

    I have 2 pc's networked downstairs. I want to network my daughters pc in her bedroom...

    I want to control the websites that she can visit.. ie: i want to go to each and eveyr one, before i allow it on her pc, and , if possible i'd like to do that on my
    PC downstairs...

    So its 2 questions really...

    1) Best way to directly control the websites available on the networked pc upstairs.

    2) how to access that from downstairs.

    Both PC's are Win98 SE. IE6. although in reality i could use any broweser/set up

    Anyone ?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    "I want to control the websites that she can visit.. ie: i want to go to each and eveyr one, before i allow it on her pc, and , if possible i'd like to do that on my
    PC downstairs..."

    Good Luck.


    1) Put the computer in same room, down stairs, so you can watch where and what she is doing. There is NO remote SW that I am aware of.
    2) Do not think it can be done.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    I think you need to run a proxy server and point your daughter's PC at the proxy server. The proxy server software can be configured for "yes" and "no" sites. I don't know the details of how to do this, but if you want to "roll your own" filtering solution using an intermediate PC, I believe this is how you would do it.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    I'd agree with Jefferson, a proxy server is probably the best way.
    There are others available, but Wingate will give you an idea of what can be done.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    But can the default be set to NO, utill papa checks out the upteen million webpages and give approval?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    Yes, I believe the default can be set to NO in Wingate.
    (There is the ability to set specific allowed and dis-allowed web addresses. An "allowed" list would be pretty useless if everything else was not prohibited.)

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    How old is your daughter? You know, it's only a matter of time she will learn to bypass your proxy server, find open ports in your firewall and crack your passwords. Isn't it better to be a friend rather than prison guard? Take your daughter for hiking or skiing trip, play and read with her and teach her to resist temptations and avoid dangers, and results will benefit all your life. Try to trust her.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Controlling ie6 remote (IE6)

    The best words I have heard in a long time.

    "Try to trust her" but be there for her.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •