Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Recently, my office upgraded our server to Windows Server 2000 Pro (& all the workstations to 2000 Pro as well.) We are all running Access 2000, with which we utilize tables and corresponding reports. With the old system, we could enter data in any table; save that table, preview the corresponding report, print that report; & the new data would be included in the report.

    With the new system, it seems like Access has to be closed after saving data in order for the report to include the new data, because when we print a report directly after saving, we get the old data. When we close out the app; then reopen the app; & then preview & print the reports, the new data is then correctly included.

    This is really inconvenient for the nature of the work we do. Is there any way to set up Access to work our old way...to have the saved data immediately available for inclusion in the corresponding reports?

    Thanks in advance.

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    It sounds as if you may have a code thread that is running in the background and doesn't ever actually save the records until you exit the database. You should be able to test that theory by doing whatever you normally do to save a record, and then view that record at the table level. Which raises the question as to how you are saving data - is the form you are using a bound form, or is all the work being done in VBA?
    Wendell

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Wendell,

    Sorry it took so long to get back...I've been busy. Thanks for the response. The database is an .mdb. The report is run from the Database Window (runs a query to generate); & contains data from the table's fields. It was created with the report wizard (in design view) from the field list. In other words, everything is sort of standard.

    In report properties, I noticed that "Event procedures" is set to "On Open." Here's what I perceive to be the problem. (I could have swore under the old system, that) I could have both the table & the report open & bounce back & forth between the two, alternately saving data in the table & then printing new reports which contained the new data. Is that possible? Now, with the new system, I save the new table data, then open the report; & it's there. If I leave the report open, the new data is not updated when I save in the table.

    It seems to me after taking a closer look that, because the report generates by query, it couldn't have saved data available immediately, without running the query upon opening? Although, I really thought I had had that capability.

    Thanks in advance,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Hmmmm - any time you preview a report, it should rerun the underlying query, unless there is some sort of lock on the table that prevents reading the new record(s). If on the other hand, you have the report open in preview mode and edit records in the table, it would not be updated until you switched to design view and then back to preview.

    Your statement In report properties, I noticed that "Event procedures" is set to "On Open." I don't understand. Is there some sort of event procedure being run when the report is previewed or printed?
    Wendell

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Wendell,

    I'm not sure. It's part of "Properties" for the report.

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Even if you could do it, that is a *terrible* way to operate. Entering and changing data directly in a table or query is the best way I can think of to completely trash your database without even trying. Access changed significantly between A97 and A2k, and you are now forced to behave yourself in many ways that were not a requirement before.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Saving Table Data For Reports (2000)

    Sorry, my question should have asked if there was actually an event procedure assigned to that property - all reports have that property. To determine that open the properties box with the report in design mode and click on the events tab - if it says event procedure then you should be able to click on the builder button once that field in the properties dialog has focus and view the code being run. An alternative is to simply click on the code button on the toolbar and all code associated with the report will be made visible.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •