Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    CPU Runs Intermittently

    Not quite sure how to explain this, but I'll try. One of our employees says that her CPU just starts running for no reason. She said the last time it ran for 16 minutes. Is there something running, such as some kind of backup, in the background? If so, can we change a setting to resolve the problem?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    I'm not clear on what you mean. Do you mean the system (CPU) powers up and does something, or CPU as in the microprocessor inside of it gets very busy? You can easily see what's running by pressing CTRL+ALT+DEL and looking at the task list. Common culprits are antivirus scanners, disk defragmenters, and indexing services like Find Fast from Office. First, find out what is running on the PC, and then you can narrow it down from there. Also find out if there is a lot of disk activity during these periods. More information!!
    -Mark

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    Thanks for your response. It's the microprocessor that takes off running. I did a search on her system and found the following files ... Find.exe in Windows/Command; Find Fast.cpl in WindowsSystem; Fast.pip in WindowsSystem; Finder.exe in Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice 10. Could any of these be causing the microprocessor to run at will? I also told her to check her Task Manager the next time it starts running.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    FindFast is a notorious hog of resources. To remove it, you'll need to run the Office setup program. I can't think of one single reason it should be running, because it doesn't (in my opnion at least) make one whit of difference in retrieving Office-created files. Find Fast scours the hard drive for Office files and indexes them, and that's when you see high CPU usage. (Thanks for clarifying, by the way).

    Searching the hard drive for executables and other things named find probably isn't going to reveal much, though - try to find out what is actually running on the PC. Fair warning....if you mention McAfee in these parts, put on your hip waders and get out your umbrealla. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Just kidding, don't be afraid to post such things, but watch out for Dave and Al if you do! <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    -Mark

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    Thanks. We'll proceed from here. I've also heard that SP3 for Outlook can cause the usage to shoot up. When it happens again, she'll check the Task Manager to see what's running.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    And, for reasons in addition to virus checkers (Blaaa, Mark!) she ought to run MSCONFIG, look in the Startup tab and, if necessary, make you a screenshot of what's there so you can help her. Sometimes it take a little guessing and trial and error to figure out what's eating the CPU resource. You're onto the first hint with those hogs that you and Mark have talked about.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    The startup list at http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup_conte...tm#THE_PROGRAMS is invaluable in finding unnecessary programs/applications to eliminate.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    "FindFast is a notorious hog of resources. "

    Also if on a NETWORK it can and will sometimes want to update the database of ALL mapped drives. This may take forever.

    And I will NOT bring up "McAfee" <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    Dave, you and I have become the "whipping boys" of Woody's Lounge, where anti-virus software is concerned, huh? Well, it gives 'em something to write.....

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>
    We do agree to disagree about the anti virus programs. This gives more than one view about them. The viewer will just have try out what we disagree on and found out who they will agree with, or go to a third or fourth program and provide their different thought. Of course we MAY agree to disgree with them also.

    I am not sure I agree with my own disagreement <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CPU Runs Intermittently

    OK, back on topic, we'll just have to wait for Race to come back and tell us what's happening with the CPU drama.....or if MSCONFIG shows anything.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •