Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    'Access Lock File' (A2K, SR1)

    What is an "Access Lock.File"? A few moments ago, I closed my Acced db, then went to My Computer and noticed this tiny (1 mb) file by that name. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 'Access Lock File' (A2K, SR1)

    It should disappear when you close your database (unless your database crashes, or someone else is still using the database). If you are SURE no one else is using your database (and that you haven't accidentally opened it twice but only closed it once), you can delete the lock file.

    The lock file is, basically, what tracks multi-user access so that more than one person can open your database at once time while still preventing two people from simultaneously changing the same record. It is created automatically and (should be) deleted automatically.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Access Lock File' (A2K, SR1)

    Thanks! I couldn't find anything (but I did a very hurried search). I remember seeing something like that a few years ago in connection with a database I had constructed over a couple of months. The file did not go away (the one I saw today did vanish), and my project went up in flames. That's why I had the vapors when I saw it. The difference this time is that I have not one but two backup copies of my db on different drives. The first time, I didn't know how to spell backup.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 'Access Lock File' (A2K, SR1)

    There is sometimes a delay refreshing the Windows explorer window, especially if there's a network involved.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •