Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Star Office has broken my desktop shortcut URL's

    Okay i have a problem and I am stumpted on how to fix it and any suggestions will be deeply appreciated...I d/l Star Office 5.2 to try out and play with a bit...I really didnt like it and the way it hijacked stuff...well i un-installed it the proper way and the way Star Office said, *Add/Remove Programs*...and it works great, but then i noticed something that dosent now...If I go to a web page and I want to save a shortcut to it on my desktop (W2K using IE6), I do it the normal way and it saves it...then when I click on it to go to the web page, instead of opening an instance of IE and going to the web page it opens the *download* box and asks me if i want to download...grrrrrrr...

    i have tried everything...Microsoft, Star Office and other bulletin boards to find a solution and to no avail...i have re-installed and un-installed Star Office, IE, ran repair on W2K, exported all my URL links and taken all off of my desktop, gone into the registry and made sure that IE's settings were right, checked the settings on URL shortcuts and nothing has been able to solve this problem, i even ran a registry checker and fixer and still nothing...if I create a user on this machine the desktop shortcut URL's work great, so it is only happening in administrator role...

    any suggestions or advice or anything would be deeply appreciated...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Star Office has broken my desktop shortcut URL's

    What is the code for your problem shortcut? I right-clicked your post and chose Create Shortcut, and got this on my desktop (viewed by using Send

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Star Office has broken my desktop shortcut URL's

    Also, what is your "open" action command string for the URL file type?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Star Office has broken my desktop shortcut URL's

    Thanks for your info...it was interesting when I went to explorer and went through the steps there was a button that said "restore" and so I clicked it and what do you know...it actually restores the URL shortcut t the defaults and now my shortcuts on my desktop and those that i place there from a web page work....i know i dont remember seeing that before as i would have clicked on it...but who knows, this software support training i have been doing for Quickbooks has gotten my brain fried a bit and knowing that when we jump in on Monday that the phones will be ringing off the hooks and that there will probably be a 100 callers or so in que waiting for help doesnt help my memory either...

    I just wanted to thank you for your help and taking the time to give me a solution...(C: now everything for the URL shortcut looks like it supposed to for the properties...i was getting a bit tweaked because i had change those settings to what you showed and nothing...oh well again ty and have a great New Years and a GREAT 2003!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    neomatsu <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •