Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    I have an (old) AVI file (before the DIVX times). It plays perfectly on my Win98 MP7.01 player.

    It DID play OK on my XP-system some time ago but for reasons unknown, now it refuses (class error). I tested some other AVI's as well, most refuse, some give only sound, no visual.

    I downloaded the Microsoft CODEC pack/update (as I thought I had maybe lost the AVI codec) but that didn't help.

    Anybody who can tell me what's wrong here??

    Thanks,

    Erik Jan

    PS. I also tried the DIVX viewer (5.0.2) on my XP system... that doesn't work.... but neither does the DIVX player on my Win98 system so maybe this is not abnormal...

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    AVI playback is a pain in the a** with the 'new' Media Player. The best way to determine what codec you need is to use the following steps:
    1. <LI>Click on Start and then Run.
      <LI>Type in MPLAY32 and click OK.
      <LI>Drag and drop, or open, the AVI file in the resulting media player application
      <LI>If the codec isn't installed, make a note of its name and search the net.
    The problem with AVI files is that there can be a great many different codecs used when creating them, and they're of course required for playback. I've never found a few of them in my hunting, but most are around - just watch out for licensing terms, some may not be free for redistribution.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    I, too, have been having problems with both Media Player and Real Player (free). When I try to play some media files both MP and Real throw up an error message and close.
    I tried to run MPlayer32 but it cannot be found on my system. Is this a problem also?

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    What are the messages that are tossed out - specific wording?

    What OS are you using? I believe MPLAY32 is distributed with all versions of Windows, but just because you can't run it from the RUN prompt doesn't indicate a problem. Try searching your hard drive(s) for the MPLAY32.EXE file and see if it's hiding somewhere.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Hi Mark,
    I just tried to play a clip from MP's site and the error message says:

    "An object or name was not found" On click ing <Details> I get "No more information is available
    There is no more information available for this error at this time. Check Web Help (English version), which may have more updated information on this error."
    I also tried a search but MPLAY32.EXE was not found on my system.

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Mmmm, does this happen with all video clips or just the one from the site you mentioned? Can you provide a link?

    This sounds like a buffering problem, or that the video clip isn't set up properly on the website you are visiting. At this point, based on the information you've provided, I'm not inclined to think that it's something wrong with your OS. Test some video clips from other sites and your hard drive/CD - let's determine if it's a global problem with all video, or is limited to certain video types/websites.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Terneuzen, Netherlands
    Posts
    895
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Mark,

    Did what you suggested (by-the-way MPLAY32 works on WinXP not on -my- Win98... luckily (...) my problem occurs on my WinXP system.

    The codec that wasn't installed / available was: cvid (The error was: "Cannot find 'vids:cvid' decompressor)

    I looked on the web and didn't find that much actually; luckily I found few hits and I could download a ZIP-file with something I could install. After that (I didn't reboot yet) there was NO CHANGE in what happened: basically I hear sound (so the file seems OK) but not picture (I am testing this with GOODTIMES.AVI which -I believe- was once part of an MSOffice ??? CD)

    Appreciate any further suggestions...

    Erik Jan

    PS. The install seemed for Win95/98, hope the codec was 'accepted' by WinXP. Is there a tool that lists my Codecs??

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    I've downloaded a variety of clips from different sites but MP won't play the game.

    With mp2 and mpeg clips I get this message after hectic HD activity for a few secs:
    "Wmplayer has caused an error in WMPLAYER.EXE. Wmplayer will now close"

    With avi clips I get sound but no video.

    Any suggestions?

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Hi Mark, I have 2 colleagues who send me video mail, and it works well. I imagine it is much like voice email in that having the original program, the avi is sent including a video player so that the recipient can play it without problems. These 2 people both use different video mail programs, but both play just fine.

    Bytheway, ages back you told me to install System Works 2002 which I had not done fearing it would consume too much space and slow down my older machine further, I finally did install it last week and you are right, its very cool! <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15> Thanks to all the Utilities a zillion things have been "repaired,. deleted or tixed" and now this old machine is really MUCH faster. Thanks for the nudge, I am really impressed with it. Next time you tell me to install something, I'll snap to it!

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    I found trhe CVID codec here. You want the Cinepak Codec at the bottom of the page. For your AVI files, you'd need to repeat the MPLAY32 step - unless someone else has an easier way.

    Now the error you're getting doesn't sound like a healthy media player, which could be the problem, not the codec itself. Have you tried running the System File Checker and also checking your hard drive for errors? I'm afraid I'm at a loss to explain the error without more detailed information.
    -Mark

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Glad to provide the needed nudge.

    Your friends may not be having problems with AVIs, but again, it's all down to the codecs used. I believe Microsoft has dropped support for some of the older formats that are still prevalent on the net, which is kind of a pain - but they want you to use WMV video codecs anyway, and this is a standard way of forcing it upon the masses. Just make it difficult as hell for anyone who doesn't use what you're offering, and they'll give up.

    Ahem. Off my soapbox now. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Mark,
    Thanks for your time and trouble. Just one more question:is it possible to reinstall MP?

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Reinstall? <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> Not truly, in XP, since it ships as part of the OS's bundled software. However - I have managed to hack XP into allowing a re-install of IE6, which also ships as part of the OS, so I'd say it could be done if you wanted. Now that you've got me curious I imagine I will be sleepless and digging to see how it can be done. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> A better option would probably be to do a repair, an in-place upgrade, or running the System File Checker.
    -Mark

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    Thanks Mark, but don't lose sleep on my account.
    However, My OS is Me, not XP. Does that make any difference?

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mediaplayer doesn't show AVI's anymore

    <hr>don't lose sleep on my account<hr>
    Depending on whom you ask I never sleep anyway. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> So don't worry too much.

    If it's ME, you can certainly install it again. Since WMP 9 is due out next week, maybe waiting a few days and installing it would be a good option....it's a much better player than WMP 7.1.
    -Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •