Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Tray icons (WinXP SP1)

    Weird stuff happening with the tray on my system.

    Applications that run out of the tray are not showing up there. But the apps ARE running in the system. In the capture below, the top part is everything showing in my tray. The part below that is segment of what is actually running in my system. The apps highlighted in yellow should show in the tray but don't (they did before). These hidden apps work fine but I can't control all of them if I can't get to their tray icon.

    I've messed around with "Taskbar | Properties | Hide inactive icons" checkbox, turning it off and on (currently not checked). I've turned it on and tried to set the individual apps to "Always show". Nothing seems to work. I think the task bar control for showing icons may be broken. Anyone else experiencing this problem?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Tray icons (WinXP SP1)

    Oh yeah! The dammmnnned tray icons are as fickle as a mare in heat! Mine keep changing all the time. I don't know if anyone has a solution for this problem either. I keep setting the Hide or Show properties and they change at will. Sorry!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tray icons (WinXP SP1)

    I use the Classic Start Menu with show small items in the start menu. I customised the Notifactions and set each item to 'Always hide' or 'Always Show' except for the Internet Connection Icon which I set to 'Hide when inactive'. I don't know if physically setting every icon helps or not but I've had vrey little trouble with disappeaing icons. I don't like the Tray resizing itself so fixing the settings seems to work for me.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris (Hunt)

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Tray icons (WinXP SP1)

    To this day (knock on wood) I have NOT had any problems with the Systray icons, even during all of the beta builds I ran. I am using the Classic mode, and have all of the auto hide and/or removal turned OFF.

    I have 11 items (icons) shown and they all work.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Tray icons (WinXP SP1)

    I found this in the MS KB. I will try and lock the toolbar and see what happens.

    Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 321213

    Icons in the Notification Area May Disappear If You Use High-Contrast Color Themes in Windows XP

    The information in this article applies to:
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition

    SYMPTOMS
    If you are using the Windows Classic theme in Windows XP, the icons in the notification area on the right side of the taskbar may disappear when you select a High Contrast scheme in the Color Schemes box on the Appearance tab.

    RESOLUTION
    To work around this problem, right-click a blank area of the taskbar, and then click Lock the Taskbar. Or, change the size of the taskbar, and then restore it.

    STATUS
    Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.

    MORE INFORMATION
    For additional information about configuring desktop themes in Windows XP, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

    307855 HOW TO: Configure Desktop Themes in Windows XP

    For additional information about moving or resizing the taskbar in Windows XP, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

    279774 Cannot Move or Resize the Taskbar or Any Toolbars on the Taskbar

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Stranger & stranger

    Locking the taskbar didn't do anything to solve the problem.

    But, and this is really weird, I've discovered that if I log off the account and back on again, all the proper icons show up in the tray. However, if I reboot, I'm back where I started with a good number missing. Anyone see any connections?

    I'm thinking I will have to try refreshing my system. Some kind of record for me - clean installed 1 week ago! What will I lose if I do a repair? Is that the best approach?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    I don't know about you, but I wouldn't re-install the OS for something like this problem with the Tray. I'm in a boat similar to yours. I set all the icons in the Tray to Alway Show, Always Hide, etc. and sooner or later one or more of them changes. Annoying but not worth a re-install to me.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    Are you using the "Auto login" method, where your default account comes up on start up?

    If so try turning this off and run doing a manul login for a while.

    I agree with BigAl, do not do a reinstall unless it is a Clean one, but you may try a "Repair" if you feel you really need to try this.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    No, not using autologon.

    Since the OS is only 1 week old, refreshing the system shouldn't really be that big of a problem. All the apps should stay installed, only the OS files will be refreshed and I might lose some OS options that have to be reset. But there is no guarantee that this will work to fix the problem.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    A programmer friend told me today that apps running the tray have to register themselves with Explorer at boot time to show in the tray. If they don't do this correctly, then the app may not show. An example he used is when Explorer blows up (common in Win98) you'd lose the tray icons until you rebooted. He thinks that there could be a timing issue during bootup or my Exploer might be corrupt.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    Remember from original post that I am missing icons in the tray on a full reboot (but the apps are running). If I immediately do a logoff/on, all the icons show up in the tray.

    I've discovered that the icons that do not show in the tray on the the full boot are all in a start|programs|startup folder that has been relocated out of the standard Cocuments & Settingsusername.... location. I know 2 registry locations where the location of the startup folder is specfied:

    1. HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorerUser Shell Folders
    2. HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionExplorerShell Folders

    I have changed both of these. In fact, every reference in these 2 keys has been changed to point to locations on my D: drive. Anyone know of another location I am missing?

    I've been able to delete every other folder in Cocuments and Setingsusername... EXCEPT for Cocuments and SettingsusernameStart Menu. Windows won't allow to me to do this (even though it is completely empty). I get this message:

    "Start Menu is a Windows system folder and is required for Windows to run properly. It cannot be deleted". This usually indicates that there is somewhere/something else in the system that has a hold on this folder and is locking me out.

    So it is starting to look like WinXP takes a different path on a full reboot vs. a re-logon. On full reboot, it doesn't look at my alternate startup folder location. It only looks at the Cocuments & Settingsusername location. But on logoff-on, Windows does look at the correct version also. This didn't happen in Win2k, so something has changed with WinXP.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    You did NOT state that you had MOVED the D&S to a different drive. You have just opend up to another world. There are some subfolders that can de MOVED and other that can NOT be moved.

    I think you are seeing reasons for NOT moving the D&S folders. If I remember right, that even in Windows NT3.0 -4.5, when using a roaming profile, a copy of system required folders and files were copied on to each machine that I logged into.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    968
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    "I think you are seeing reasons for NOT moving the D&S folders. If I remember right, that even in Windows NT3.0 -4.5, when using a roaming profile, a copy of system required folders and files were copied on to each machine that I logged into."

    One, things have changed since NT, so you can't go by that. Two, I don't use a roaming profile. Roaming is turned off. Three, I should be able to put my data wherever I choose to. Period. Restricting yourself to "supposed and undocumented" software limitations is counter-intuitive and stupid. In this case, leaving your custom settings at the default C: drive location exposes you to data loss and time-consuming re-configuration should you have to reinstall the OS. That is why I have relocated all my personal settings since Win98. I didn't have any problems doing this with Win98 or Win2k. But I do have a problem with WinXP.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    I don't want to cause a debate here, since it seems you're already experienced with tweaking the registry, but I think you're on thin ice with whatever you've done, whether you did it by dragging, TweakUI or whatever. Ever since MS started "hardcoding" My Documents, My Music, and so on, I've just ignored them and set all my apps to use a Data Store directory of my creation. So, all my own generated "critical" data is put where I choose, with the possible exception of my browser profile and a few things like that.

    "...leaving your custom settings at the default C: drive location exposes you to data loss..." Ain't that the truth, but that's like trying to get Windows to store .INI files someplace other than the system default directory. Maybe it can be done, somehow, but..... Sorry to be on what I know looks like a soapbox, but I haven't got the foggiest idea how to help you since there's no way to know EXACTLY what you've already done.

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Stranger & stranger

    <hr>I should be able to put my data wherever I choose to.<hr>
    Couldn't agree more - all that remains is to convince Bill <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>.
    <hr>Restricting yourself to "supposed and undocumented" software limitations is counter-intuitive and stupid.<hr>
    We all make choices, and most of them involve compromise. This is akin to saying that "using MS products is counter-intuitive and stupid" ( <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> may be a grain of truth in there somewhere.) I've worked with, and around MS idiosyncracies since they managed to bury CP/M with the inferior MS-DOS (no, I'm not quite that old, just an early adopter <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>). Part of the deal is that you win some, Bill wins more. You make the best of your end of the deal, or get ulcers & go <img src=/S/nuts.gif border=0 alt=nuts width=15 height=15>. Of course you may also throw in the odd <img src=/S/aflame.gif border=0 alt=aflame width=16 height=16>, aimed at the right target, safe in the knowledge that MS will probably recover.

    I keep glancing over at the freedom of choice in the Linux & Open Office world, but so far can't see the mileage in switching.

    Maybe you are ready for the jump?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •