Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    I made a copy of the files wpa.dbl and wpa.bak before reinstalling windows. I was hoping that copying these back to the original folders would allow me to skip reactivating Windows but this doesn't seem to be the case. What did I miss? Could it be that because I repartitioned my C: Drive after making a backup of the files that this was seen as a system change? My motherboard and memory are the same. The number of physical drives is the same (barring an additional removable drive). Has anyone had experience of using this procedure to avoid reactivation? Am I stuck now? I hope if I have to reactivate I can do so without phoning Microsoft. I'm based in japan with a Western version of Windows XP. If I need to phone the States I guess I won't be able to phone collect.

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    The last time I had to reactivate it was quick and painless. Ofcourse, I'm in the US. I frankly don't know if you can just call a number for Microsoft that's more local to you. The whole process takes about 5 minutes and doesn't involve talking to anyone or getting stuck on hold.

    Early on I tried copying those two files and found that it did nothing. In fact, that could be the reason XP wants reactiviation. Best to bite the bullet and just do it. I must admit, though, that I cannot figure out what triggers a new activation. I've done things to my PC that I was sure would require reactivation that did not.

    Good Luck!

    Bob Harris <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    Did you boot to Safe Mode and logon as Administrator before replacing wpa.dbl ?

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    Chris,
    Why not just reactivate on line, if it says that you have to do it? I've done it twice and there was NO hassle involved. Quick and easy and no toll calls or wait on hold.
    I read once somewhere, just what triggers a request for reactivation, but it was a complex algorithm that couldn't be beat by just copying the wpa files. That would have been MUCH too easy to do. <img src=/S/surrender.gif border=0 alt=surrender width=31 height=23>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    With a fresh install, online activation is the way to go. In cases where I had already activated XP, it required a telephone call.... My understanding is that once MS has the serial number, it won't let you do a straight online re-activation....

    If you can do it, it's a "No Brainer"! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    I think I did do it in Safe mode, but it's been a long time. I'm really not that sure, honestly.

    As for going to Safe Mode to get to Administrator, I use the Classic interface which allows a switch to Adminstrator in the fashion of Win2K, WinNT, etc. I frankly hate having to go to Safe Mode to use the Administrator. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    I did boot to safe mode before restoring the files. I didn't specifically log on as Administrator, though.

    When XP first came out I told myself I wouldn't buy a copy because of the 'activation issue'. Someone, somewhere termed the phrase 'serfware' and that's just about what it is. What happens in the future when Microsoft phase out support for XP as they are doing for Windows 98 etc? If they don't issue reactivation codes users will be forced to upgrade. That will be extortion.

    Windows XP is a better system than Windows 98 but I'd probably be with Windows 98 now but for hardware issues. My wife scratch built a system., At the time we checked all the components would work with Windows 98. But after two days of failed installation I discovered that the Video Card wasn't compatible with Windows 98. After checking out various alternatives it transpired that getting XP seemed the most logical choice.

    Anyway I tried activating online and was accepted. I'd sure like to know if anyone has successfully avoided reactivation and how they did it. I really do want to avoid phoning Microsoft if I ever need to reinstall Windows again.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    Bob,
    Not True, As I said, I did reactivate on line. Twice. No Problem.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    Well, Son of a Gun!! Maybe I'll just headed for the telephone too fast!

    I don't know when I'll have to do a reinstall; hopefully not too soon. I tend to heavily use the PC in my business and after about a year it's accumulated enough trash that it's just easier to bit the bullet and reinstall. I'll definitely try the online again....if I have to reactivate and if I can.

    That's good news.

    By the way, Happy New Year! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    I read somewhere that you can reactivate online around 5 times before you are forced to telephone. Or something about 'a number of chances' that are used up by changing hardware. I've no idea. But has the wpa trick actually worked for anyone and if it did what happened? I was expecting the activation reminder to disappear. But maybe copying the wpa files gives you a fresh chance to activate online? Can anyone clear this up, please.

    Chris

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Avoiding Reactivation (Pro)

    I feel quite certain, Chris, that the activation scheme has been buried deeper than just the two files you referred to. My understanding is that those two are there and that during the beta phases of WinXP people were using them to deal with the activation questions. However, in the final releases copying them and later putting them back in does not make the activation reminder disappear. That sort of scheme would simply be to easy to get around.

    Here in California there is the Business Software Alliiance, maybe it covers the whole country, for what I know. However, they are REALLY cracking down on pirated software. The fines that get levied are now in the range of $150,000 per software app per PC! Much easier to just activate.

    Intuit has had a scheme like WinXP for a long time. QuickBooks gives you 25 loads of the program before it quites. It's been like that for at least 5 or 6 years, I think. I've never heard anyone complain about that. Microsoft does it and everyone screams.

    Oh well. <img src=/S/chatter.gif border=0 alt=chatter width=38 height=16>

    --Bob <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    -Bob Harris
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •