Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Hi folks, hope you all had a great start to the New Year. I had another attempt at installing the additional SD Ram onto my older machine. Had the following error readings "An exception OD has occurred at 0028.C14C0102 in VxD ---. This was called from 0028:C0003A7F in VxD ---." and "A fatal exception OE has occurred at 0157:00001C82, the current application will be terminated". I don't have a clue what either of these messages mean, can anyone enlighten me?

    After inserting 1 of the 256 SD Ram, the DOS screen read it had 262 MB Ram and the "upgrade successful", then it goes into Safe Mode where it suggests I check the control panel settings, I checked the System Properties (not that I know what Im looking for) and it does show the memory to be 256 MB and System Resources at 81% free. This is actually the most encouraging attempt I have had so far. I have 2 X 256 SD Ram, but have only inserted 1 at this point. Do you think I should try inserting the 2nd one as well or will it make little difference to speed on an older machine? <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15>

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Win 98 can have trouble managing memory over 256MB. Are planning to run something that will require that much RAM? If not, there may be little to be gained.

    VxD is a virtual driver - is the --- what was displayed? Otherwise the rest should give some indication of what deveice driver is causing the problem. Are you sure theatthe memory you bought is compatible with the system?

    There are utilities that can manage physical memory better than 98. I have one called FreeMem Pro, but I can't attest to it's value. With 256MB, it did stop me running out of memory on a couple of occasions. It may be just the thing for you. The file is 531kB, so a little large to email, but I could send it to you . Otherwise try http://downloads-zdnet.com.com/2001-20-0.html , where you should find a selection of similar software.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Hi Patrick, thanks for the swift reply. You are right, I have been playing around the last couple of hours trying to get the other 256 SD Ram to work, and it refuses. However, I'm happy to say the error readings (yes the --- was displayed, appreciate you telling me it has something to do with a "virtual driver") quoted in my post have stopped since I removed the previous memory stick, originally I only had 2 x 32. Had no idea that leaving 1 of these in would stuff up booting and send me to safe mode. Now I know, I won't make that error again. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    I'm happy to have the 256 take, and hope to see improvement having upgraded from 64. Now I understand the other 256 will not work on this machine, I'll give up trying. Yes I was told by the tech's at the store 256 x 2 should be fine for this computer, but I am not concerned to have 1 left over, it will no doubt come in handy somewhere. Thank you for the help and have a great weekend.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    One other thing to consider is that some motherboards require sticks of RAM in pairs.

    If you want 256 MB then you need a pair of 128s

    If you want 128 MB you need to use a pair of 64s......

    So try and put both 256 stick in and see if that makes a difference.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>Ontario (beautiful place). Believe it or not the "pairs" of ram had occurred to me which is why I purchased 2 x 256's (I'm an optimist). But I did not know that this machine could only handle 1 x 256, guess I am lucky that 1 works at all, rather than having to buy 2 x 128. I did indeed insert both sticks once I had 1 working I was hopeful the other would take, but alas no luck there. Appreciate your thoughts though, I am learning as I go along. thankyou kindly for the reply.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Windows 98 may have problems managing more than 256MB, but it should still be possible to add it.

    If it won't even show up at POST (Power-On Self-Test), that suggests two things to me: either you need a BIOS upgrade t oenable the board to manage more memory (not necessarily possible); or the second stick is faulty.

    If you need a BIOs upgrade, on the whole I would suggest not to bother, unless you have any other new technology to add, or want to upgrade the O/S. You don't stand to see much or any performance gain; and the extra memory may even make the system unstable.

    I have had brand-new memory sticks turn out to be faulty before now. You can test them by swapping them in the machine, unless you have another system to put the second stick in. I'd recommend testing them now, as there will be less chance of arguments from the supplier if they arer returned immediately.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    This may be late in the game, but the errors you are seeing are typically the result of improper access of memory - usually software. If the errors started popping up after you installed the new RAM, that's almost certainly the cause. Older motherboards can be quite picky about memory and parity errors, and the WinNT/2000/XP platform is also less than forgiving (that's a good thing btw).
    -Mark

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Hi Mark, thanks for the info, believe me its NEVER too late in the game for me, I learn heaps from these experiences and take it all in. This Ram exercise has been interesting for me, (though completely and moronically simple to you folks). If it were not for the help provided in this fabulous place, I'd not have ventured further than my first failed attempt to install it. For this girl, opening the computer & finding the slots between the cables, was scary! Im happy to play around with software, but hardware sure makes me uneasy. Now I have succeeded in this seemingly simple task in your eyes, I do not feel so intimidated by it. Because of the help here, I completely understand the reason my original effort failed, why the 2nd stick will not take, and what caused the error readings. This is very cool! Mark , Patrick and Brian thank you for your patience, help and guidance. What wonderful people you are. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Hi Patrick, yes I agree, I will not upgrade the Bios tempting instability, but I find it useful to know a Bios can be upgraded and what POST means. Assuming that is what I see when I boot, yes? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> It's a handy tip to consider the 2nd stick could be faulty, though I now understand it will not function on this machine, it's worth checking before I hand it onto someone else to use. Appreciate the help, thank you very much.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Actually, the problem number is 512. Check out Q253912: "Out of Memory" Error Messages with Large Amounts of RAM Installed. Even better is that there is a workaround for the problem. Doesn't do anything for Cyberdance, of course - that appears to be a limitation of the motherboard that's causing her woes - but it's something to tuck away.
    -Mark

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Another thing to point out, the following is from an article I wrote a while back.
    "...If you have over 64 MB of RAM and use Windows 98 (This applies to this version ONLY according to a well hidden Micro$oft Knowledgebase article Q223294). Anyway back to the lesson, as you have probably already read I suggest setting your own virtual memory (VM), well if you do or do not, Win98SE uses up to 64MB or RAM, then the virtual memory, then the remaining memory. Yes, First the fast RAM is used, then slow VM, then back to the fast RAM. The article tries to scare you with

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    I looked at that article. Your version is much clearer!

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    A quick (but maybe late) point here: have we established that your memory is good in the first place? Easy to do: replace the good 256 stick with the OTHER one. If everything works just the same, then you have 2 good sticks and indeed a motherboard/bios issue with addressing more than 256 (or really, 512). However if the second stick doesn't work, then you've got a bad memory stick (not entirely uncommon), and perhaps that's your problem, fwiw. One more thing, it's usual for the first stick to establish the size of subsequent sticks, so when you had the 32mb in first it messed up "seeing" the 256. However you should be ok to stick in a 32mb stick in after the 256. While this won't add much, more is always better, isn't it? I'm not sure from your posts how many slots you have, and you could add both 32mb sticks if you have 3 or more slots. This of course assumes that your memory max is something over 256 (but less than 512). Whew.


    sorry to muck things up (and cause you to open your box, again!!!).
    Congrats on the upgrade, and good luck

    kip

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Hi Kent, I went into the Sys ini, found [386Enh] without problem, but there is nothing in the list that seems to relate to ConservativeSwapFileUsage=1. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> There are 12 items listed when I expand the 386Enh, but can't see anything that indicates swap file usage? I appreciate you trying to help, the computer seems to be working much faster, so I assumed it was indeed happily using all of the 256 MB. Interesting to look into these things though, I had no idea about the article you refer to. Appreciate you taking the time to respond. Thankyou.

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 256 SD Ram Win 98SE

    Hi there, I am learning so much about memory, it's amazing how many variables there are. Yes both memory sticks are fine, I did swap them to see, and with only one or the other in it's slot the computer is quite happy. Having experienced problems when I did have the 256 in 1 slot and left the original 32 in the other, it never occurred to me to try and put the 32 stick back again. Interesting to learn that the order in which they are inserted matters! (Told ya I am new at this). Wow what an education I am having from this experience. Don't worry about me opening up the tower (do you call them towers or boxes), coz I have left it open up on the desk while I've been working with the memory, figured I would close it all up again once I had it as good as I can get it.

    Thank you to all who have helped me so much with this upgrade, the encouragement from you people is fantastic, I would never have got anywhere without your help. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •