Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    I have three users registered for my computer (me, husband, daughter). We first had a problem where XP wouldn't let a user log off, and now I'm experiencing problems with XP not wanting to shutdown, either on Start, Turn Off Computer or using Cntl-Alt-Del then either restart or shutdown. It just sits there and does nothing. I've run Norton on Windows and no problems show up. Has anyone experienced this problem before, and know of a possible solution?
    thanks!
    Debby

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Since I haven't had or even heard of shutdown problems lately, can we perhaps take a look at what "stuff" (TSRs?) you have running all the time? Maybe XP is having to shutdown something that's giving it a lot of work. You could look in Task Manager and/or MSCONFIG's Startup tab to see what apps or services are running.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Well, Al, that's not a bad idea, except for the fact that most of the names are arcane or at least Greek to me ... how would I know what was causing the problem? Should I shut down one at a time, trying to restart after each? Thanks for the help! -- Deb

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    You're right, it's a bit of detective and guesswork. I'd start with the MSCONFIG Startup tab. Be sure you look at the full line that tells you some info about what (or where) the file is. Sometimes that'll give you a clue or two. And of course, the process is reversible since you're going to UN-CHECK a box or two or three. Unfortunately it might take a few reboots to see if you can find the culprit, if there is one. And lastly, if you like, post a screenshot here in the forum. There are a lot of experienced Loungers looking on and willing to contribute.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Can you post a screenshot of the running processes? It would be a pain to list them all manually, but I'm sure that the loungers will be able to identify those arcane names and maybe find a culprit.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    I'd go Al one further and disable everything in MSCONFIG. Restart, and see if the problem went away. If it did, you know your problem child is in the list of items visible there.

    Also, what about safe mode? If you boot into safe mode, does the problem persist?

    My experience with this sort of thing is that it's usually a service that is not terminating properly. Services are like programs, but you never see them - they provide, erm, 'services' to other applications and the OS. Whatever the case, if you can eliminate the stalling using one of the steps above, you've narrowed down the list.

    A last thought, you have the ability to turn on "auto-end" for non-responsive programs and services. It's a hack of a workaround and doesn't solve the problem, but it may allow you to shut down anyway. The main concern with a workaround like this is that it could be a problem that needs fixing, and this hack won't allow you to find out what that is. If that sounds like something you'd like to try, post back - I'll dig out the relevant information. This trick can also be accomplished by downloading and installing X-Setup, which allows you to tweak these settings.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Well, here's screen shots of the task manager ... I have to post in 2 because of 1 atchment limitation. It took two to get all of the running processes displayed. What do I do next? (besides getting out my XP In a Nutshell book and reading it ... ) (sorry it's not Woody's book!)
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Here's the bottom half of the task manager.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    The next thing to do is to look each of these applications up on a site like http://www.pacs-portal.co.uk/startup...artup_full.htm to see what it is and whether you need it.

    StuartR

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    First thing of note: SaveNow.exe is spyware, associated with the Kazaa Media Desktop.

    This may not be causing the problem, but is my suspect no.1 for the moment. I recommend installing Ad-Aware or Spybot to deal with this sort of thing.

    Will keep cheching the list.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Didn't notice anything else suspicious. One thought, though: is either your Palm or Sony camera still connected at shutdown?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    And, how about AIM.EXE? Is that the instant messaging service? Could it be refusing to cooperate with Windows shutdown process?

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    Thanks to all for helping out!

    My kid says that she only installed Kazaa about 2 days ago so that's probably not the problem. But I appreciate the link to Ad-Aware ... I'll check it out.

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ridgecrest, California
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    I installed the AdWare and it removed a bunch of stuff. Right now, it shuts down on command. I didn't think that AIM.exe is the problem, since I've run that forever.

    Thanks bunches for the help!

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP shutdown (XP 5.1 Build 2600)

    My first piece of advice is GET RID OF KAZAA!!!!

    Sorry to shout, but Kazaa is the cause of more problems than it's worth.

    There have been "virii" that spread via Kazaa that fill your hard drive completely and nothing except a reformat and complete reinstall of everything.

    I know of several people that this has happened to. Several more than once <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

    If she wants Kazaa functionality, do a search for Kazaa Lite here in the Lounge. It will do all that Kazaa does, but none of the crap that goes with it.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •