Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Can someone tell me if there are any real problems in converting A97 to A2002 ?
    Is this pretty straight forward?
    Is it much like A97 to A2000?
    Appreciate any help.
    Pat <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    I have very little experience of this, but there is one issue to be aware of (it has bitten me today).

    It arises if you both do Mail Merges to Word, and have security turned on in the database.

    You get a dialog box prompting you for a user-id and password. When you supply the correct answers, you get a message box that says you don't have permissions, but if you click cancel instead of OK, the merge completes successfully.
    There are posts in the Word forum ( and maybe here too) about how to solve the problems, so I won't repeat them here.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Thanks John. I'll certainly remember that one.
    Anybody else on any conversion problems to A2002 from A97?
    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    The Word Merge stuff is a pain to deal with, but other than that, it's been virtually identical to going to 2000. In point of fact, in nearly all cases we've just converted to the 2000 format, not the 2002 format, as we some client PCs still running 2000. There aren't many compelling reasons to convert to the 2002 format.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    ... And, since the 2002 format is even *larger* than the 2000 format, there are good reasons not to convert to 2002 format.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Thanks Wendell. I'm not too sure I need to worry about the Word Merge stuff at this stage.
    Another question, are there any major differences between A2000 and A2002 ?

    Thanks Charlotte. Is the format you are talking about the data format?

    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Some MS links you may want to look at if you haven't seen them already:

    ACC2002: What's New and What Are the Enhancements in Access 2002

    What's New for Microsoft Access 2002 Developers (MSDN)

    Some of this is MS propaganda designed to persuade you to upgrade, but some useful info is also provided.

    HTH

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    The 2002 format is the optional AXP database format, which isn't the same as the 2000 file format.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Thanks Mark for those 2 links, very interesting stuff.

    Thanks Charlotte.

    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Emerald Beach, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Pat,

    just wondering are you converting a couple of databases or doing a company wide roll out of XP?

    We did an Access 2 to 97 roll out and conversion company wide a couple of years ago, 50 odd IS supported databases and 13,000 end user developed systems. The logistics were interesting as we were not controlling the roll out of the new access version and we had multiple users of the same system with different versions. Add to that the audit trail associated with conversions and ensuring that we could demonstrate to an end user that their system was essentially the same before and after the conversion ie we didn't break it.

    It was a big job.

    The 97 to XP roll out started early last year and partially progressed before the driving force was retrenched, leaving the xp roll out dead in the water and a mess to work around. No going back but no continuation of the XP roll out.

    If you're doing something like this and want any details on what we did and where we got in and out of trouble let me know.

    Cheers

    Stewart

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Thanks Stewart.

    No, at this stage it's just a general question.
    However I will definitely keep you in mind for this upgrade.

    Pat <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Patt, I freely move back and forth between the two, often in the same database. Other than the issues we discussed earlier today regarding =Date(), I've found no problems, and no real noticeable differences. Just annoying little things like in the VBA editor in 2000 you click the top X to close the editor. If you do that in 97 the whole database closes. Just little stuff like that.

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    If you switch back and forth, it does get confusing. The VBE in Access 2000 and 2002 is a major departure from all the previous versions of Access (and a long overdue one in my opinion). I work in Access 97 all day long, but I sorely miss the VBE I got used to in A2k in my previous job and that I use for all my consulting work. Other things I hate are the lack of Split, Join and Replace functions in Access 97. So if you build something in A2k or AXP, you can't necessarily convert it back to 97 if you use any of those functions.
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    I converted our Access 97 to 2000 without incident. It's running against an A97 back-end. Then this error reared its ugly head while accessing tables in code:

    "Error #452 - Can't find DLL entry point 59 in msaccess.exe. "

    Do you know what this is? Our consultant says, "The

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Converting A97 to A2002 (A97)

    Are you running on a PC with both Acess 2000 and Access 97 installed? Otherwise, Jet 4.0x should be handling the back-end so there wouldn't be anything that would require unique things from Access 97. (I presume your PC is running either 2000 or 2002.)
    Wendell

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •