Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Tools-references option not available (2000)

    After opening a module in design mode the tools-references option is not available.
    The database has been opened using the SHIFT key. The operating system is Windows NT workstation.
    Is there somewhere hidden a security option to grey out the tools-references option?

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Altnau, Thurgau, Switzerland
    Posts
    447
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    user rights for the user from NT preventing this?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    Probably not.

    The user logs in as Administrator. On one workstation everything works fine, on two others we have the mentioned problem. Maybe it has something to do with the installation???

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Altnau, Thurgau, Switzerland
    Posts
    447
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    What if one opens it without the shift key? does it behave the same?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    If we try to open the application without pressing the shift-key, then we get an error-message. We have made 3 dll 's which are registered on every workstation. And because the apllication can 't access the needed dll's, it returns an error. That 's why we 've tried to check the Tools-Refences and noticed that this option wasn 't available. I think that when we find the reason why this is locked, that our application will run correctly.

    The strange thing is that we have a workstation on which the problem doesn't occur.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Altnau, Thurgau, Switzerland
    Posts
    447
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    If you temporarily disabled the autostart routines in you DB then you should be able to open it without the shift key and then check the references.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    Nope, the appliaction is designed is such a way that you can only access the Tools-References in Design mode.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Tools-references option not available (2000)

    Excuse me? What do you mean it's designed in such a way that you can only access Tools-->References in design mode? Design mode of what? MDBs don't *have* a design mode, only objects do. Are you saying that Alt+F11 doesn't bring up the VBE? Are you talking about Access security of some kind? Do you have the code modules password protected or have you turned off some of the properties through code?
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •