New Lounger
    Thanks

Identical records, different dates (Access 2000)

I am an Army officer working on a database for data reconciliation between the various ones we use. I have a table (thru an ODBC link to our server) that shows personnel authorized strength by effective date. The table contains records for all personnel authorized in each unit by Grade, Military Occupation Specialty (MOS), etc., by effective date of the authorization document. As a result, I have multiple records which are identical except for the effective date. I need to query the table to find records with the most recent effective date for each unit's authorization document. To make matters worse, the data field for the effective date is not formatted as a date -- text only -- and since the server is not mine, I have no control over the properties of the table and can't change them. Can anyone out there help me out with this?

"Taking care of America's sons and daughters..."

Captain D

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Identical records, different dates (Access 2000)

You can use a Group By query for this. The exact way to set it up depends on the way the date is stored as text.

If the dates are stored as mm/dd/yy or something like that, you can create a calculated field using the DateValue function; if they are stored in the form mmddyy, you'll need to parse the month, day and year parts and use DateSerial to create a date value.

The query should contain all identifying fields with Group By, and the calculated date field with Max.

See attached picture (the example uses DateValue).
    Attached Images Attached Images

New Lounger
    Thanks