Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Socket

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Socket

    I have a 1998 brand X computer with 64 MB of RAM and a Pentium 200 MMX processor.
    As Internet access has slowed to a crawl (with Netscape 4.7), I'm considering adding memory (to 128 or 256 MB) and perhaps replacing the processor with a Spectra 400 MHz. However, while Kingston's site has plenty of guidance on memory, I haven't been able to find any guidance on the web in determining which processor socket I have. Can I determine this without removing the processor? (I am reasonably intelligent but not mechanically minded; I open my computer about once every two years; so I need some specific instructions about what to look for and where to look for it, or a link to a Website with illustrated info.)

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Socket

    The first thing I'd do is download the FREE Belarc Advisor which will tell you a whole lot about your system. First, of course, is to identify the motherboard and go to THEIR web site to see if the board will "take" a better processor.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Socket

    >> As Internet access has slowed to a crawl . . .

    Are you saying it was faster at some point? I can't see either more memory or a faster processor speeding up your internet access.
    Edit > Preferences > Advanced > Cache....
    What happens if you clear those?

    Is access slowing down when visiting specific sites? - or just in general?

    How much space do you have left on your hard disk? If you have set a large HD cache, have little space left and the disk needs a defrag, that could possibly slow down loading....

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas plus 20 miles or so, Texas, USA
    Posts
    876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Socket

    You might also check with Crucial and see if your system is listed there.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Socket

    The Pentium 200 MMX CPU is a socket 7 type.
    Upgradability can be supported in either a socket 5 or socket 7, in a single or dual socket design. (this per Intel tech specs)

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Socket

    Believe it or not, CPU and RAM do make a difference in surfing. Yes, connection is the single major factor however the others do make a difference. Kim Komando recently had an article on this. (www.komando.com)
    I do agree a cleanup of your browser and hard drive could make a big difference also.
    I would go 256MB if the hardware can handle it, as for the processor that is a long discussion. I would go up to the $100 US in spending on the CPU. After that I would consider a new PC or motherboard because RAM and CPU might be getting close enough to a new system price. I figure if it cost 1/2 of what I "need" (not want) in a system it is time to build a new one.

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Socket

    I agree with Kent you can build a system for a very good price. And if you want to look in the paper you can find good deals all the time for what your wanting it for (the Internet}. And I might add a much faster Computer then (200MHZ MX. <img src=/S/baby.gif border=0 alt=baby width=15 height=15> } Also if you knew how and the Motherboard and Chipset would allow it you could Overclock that 200mhz to about 225 or so. I've done it many a time. Got one 200mhz up to 260mhz and it ran cool , no over heating. But I would not suggest this enless you know what your doing. <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •