Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    I am working on unit that has a Samsung CD-ROM on D: and a Yamaha CD-R/RW on E:. Tried burning a CD and the CD Wizard keeps saying there is either not a CD or not a writeable CD.

    Upon checking the properties of both drives, the recording tab is listed on the unit that is ROM only and the writeable unit's properties show no recording tab, so it seems that XP is recognizing the ROM drive as writeable and the writeable drive as ROM, thus the inability to burn. This computer had W98 previously and burned fine, but now with XPH this is occurring.

    Any ideas, anybody, on how to get the drives recognized right and burning again?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bruce,
    One way would be to go into Device Manager and remove both drives, then click on check for hardware changes to let Windows recognize the drives all over again. Hopefully the right way this time.

    If you just want to change the drive letter designations, you can go to:
    startprogramsadministrative toolscomputer managementstoragedisk management ;
    then right click on each CD drive shown, there will be a choice to "change drive letter & paths"
    & make your changes there.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    I'd suggest a simpler step before taking the actions that Bob noted: remove and reinstall the burning software. Unless, of course, you're using the facilities built into XP, bute if memory serves you use Nero? I've had Nero do that, and a reinstall of the app corrected it.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bob ~

    Thanks...that seemed to straighten out the device mix up. Unfortunately, the Yamaha does not read now in addition to burning. It chokes and sputters when attempting to open/play data/music CDs, but nothing recognized by the device. The unit device is onIy a year old and I hope the hardware itself hasn't gone south.

    I am updating Windows as well as the device firmware from Yamaha and will see what happens.

    I tried to change the label to an indentifier rather than just "CD Drive" on the optical drives, but the cursor just blinks and accepts no input. Can I override this?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Hi, Mark ~

    Yes, I use Nero, but this particular unit is Vincenzina's with XPH and native Roxio burning software. I wanted to keep her occasional data burning simple with the copy-to-drive feature, but I may well have to install Nero and spend some time teaching as I am discovering the Yamaha does not work well under XP with the Roxio drivers.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bruce,

    The label it appears that you are trying to change is the CD (not the drive's) title.

    I don't think there is a way to change the label they way you want to, unfortunately.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    I think the closest you'll get to changing the drive label is to create a shortcut, and rename it to suit.

    As Bryan says, you're trying to change the disk label (click the "?" on the dialog title bar & then the input box). When you bring up the same dialog with a CD in the drive, it shows the name of the CD. Same in explorer - without a CD, you see the generic drive name, with a CD in the drive you see the disk name.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Hi, Bryan ~

    <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/cd.gif> Sorry, but perhaps upon a second glance you will see that the SS is of the Properties dialog box of the empty optical drive E: which was automatically and arbitrarily named "CD Drive" by XPH. The same situation exists for the other optical drive D:. I would like to label them by their respective manufacturer names.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    That text box is for the label of the CD that is in the drive and not the physical hardware.

    When you insert a CD in the drive, that text box will change to the label of the CD.

    There is no way, that I am aware of, to change the name that gets displayed in Windows Explorer, short of leaving a CD in the drive that has the title that you want displayed.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bryan ~

    My apologies....I arrived at this erroneous assumption as I am able to change the C: local disk drive name in the property dialog box. I tried the other drives and was able to change them in the 'My Computer' Explorer window, but not in the properties box. The optical drives are not able to be changed in either fashion. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    I thought I seemed to recall being able to do this, but cannot remember how.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    That's MS consistency for you. You can rename some drive names in explorer, but not all. Learn something new everyday.

    My PC has the following drives & behaviour:

    A: 3
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Okay...updated Windows, installed new Yamaha firmware/drivers.....device neither reads nor writes..... <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15> Waiting for Yamaha's response despite the warranty's expiration.

    If the device just took a nosedive, would it probably be cheaper to just purchase & install a new one or is hardware reparation cost-effective? <img src=/S/money.gif border=0 alt=money width=17 height=15>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bruce,
    Does sound like the drive went south.
    Hardware repair on drives and other perif's are not usually cost effective, unless it's something real easy and obvious. (ie: bent connector pins, bad cables, etc.) Getting replacement parts? Practically imposible!
    I'd say if Yamaha doesn't respond with a humane answer, then get a new drive; NOT a Yamaha. Then tell them so.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    Bruce,
    It looks like you need... reinstall Windows XP! Serious, your problem is that during Windows XP installation, your CD-ROM was BEFORE your CD-RW in sequence: Primary Master, Primary Slave, Secondary Master, Secondary Slave. Because of known WinXP glitch, if during Setup Windows recognized CD-ROM first, there is no way to force it to recognize CD-RW as writable. Disconnect your CD-ROM (you can connect it back after WinXP installation), insert your Windows XP Setup CD into your CD-RW, reboot your computer, boot from CD, reformat your hard drive, etc., etc...
    I hope somebody else can find another solution!

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: CD Devices Mixed Up (XPH)

    <hr>Because of known WinXP glitch, if during Setup Windows recognized CD-ROM first, there is no way to force it to recognize CD-RW as writable. <hr>
    Is this documented somewhere? I've never run into it, but it would be handy information to have for future <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> troubleshooting. I'm hoping that there's a KB article somewhere.
    -Mark

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •