Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    OE Stationery (OE6)

    I have tried using the OE Stationery, but not all the images load despite being HTML enabled. Is there a trick to this?

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hi Bruce, is it MS stationery? There is no trick, just >New message>Format>Apply stationery. You can make your own which is much better and easy to change around to suit exactly what you want.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Levin, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Images won't embed if you're using Hotbar. Now to get all the images to show correctly you must go to TOOLS>OPTIONS>SECURITY then check Internet Zone Less secure but more functional. If you're intending to move into Stationery scripts or view Stationery scripts then I suggest you go to http://lettermanstationery.tripod.com/ and click on "What's Installed" and it will tell you if you have everything required for viewing these types of Stationeries. Usually the only thing missing is the Meta Creations DXTMETA2.DLL for OE6 and you can download it from there with all the instructions.

    Cheers, Darny

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hi, Cyber ~

    Yes, this is the standard MS stationery. New message>Format>Apply stationery loads the background only, but nothing else. How do I get the rest of the images in?

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Darny ~

    My settings are in the Internet Zone but loads as I mentioned just up above.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Levin, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hotbar is spyware. http://hotbar.com/install/firstvisit.asp Avoid at all costs. OK, I've just reread your reply to Cy. Once you have loaded your background, to add images or animations have a look at the attachment. You click the thing that looks like a mountain at the far end of your view bar where you can see the font. A picture popup will appear and then you can browse for your image or animation. To add sound just use FORMAT>BACKGROUND>SOUND and browse for that too.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers, Darny

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hi, Darny ~

    Thanks for the info. No Hotbar or any other malware here - squeaky clean! <img src=/S/mice.gif border=0 alt=mice width=50 height=25>

    I am aware how to insert graphics in OE via the method in which you described. What I am trying to do is use the MS OE stationery for which the 'Format' > 'Apply Stationery' option is used. Would you know how to do this?

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Levin, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Wow! I've just seen what you mean and all the images don't appear when you use the Format>Apply Stationery. Personally I've never used that before. I prefer to use the Down Arrow in between Create Mail and Reply then Select Stationery. Or Message>New Message Using>Select Stationery.

    Hope we're on the right track now.

    Cheers, Darny

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/yougo.gif> <font color=ff6666><font face="Script MT Bold">Right On, Darny!</font face=script></font color=ff6666>

    The 'Message>New Message Using>Select Stationery' routine did the trick! <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30> Bravo for NZ! <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/flags/newzealand.gif> Thank you very much!

    Okay...how about this......do you know how to insert an HTML page into OE? I've done it within other clients, but OE always attaches it instead or inserts an HTML page with a bunch of these ######s <IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/icon_pointr.gif> <IMG SRC=http://www.Nothing_Here.com/But_This_Red_X.gif> and no background.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Levin, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    When you create a new message in rich text (HTML), do you have the edit, source and preview tabs at the bottom. If not go to VIEW> and check SOURCE EDIT in the New Message window. When I want to send anything in HTML I go through the SOURCE and delete what is there and then copy and paste what I want to replace it with. If it's a page from a website, I just go to VIEW>SOURCE in Internet Explorer. It will open in Notepad then I select all and copy. As long as you have the BASE href you shouldn't get any of the lovely little red x's. To make sure that it is working properly click the preview tab and this will show you what the recipient will see. Another good tip is to save it into your draft folder first and check the size. To get your size though you need to go to VIEW>COLUMNS on the Main OE Menu bar and check size.

    Hope this helps.

    Cheers, Darny

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Yes, I have the edit, source and preview tabs at the bottom. I have tried doing what you mentioned, but then OE can't seem to locate the images because the app did not point it to the source file or folder.

    For my Juno client, for example, I simply open an HTML document that I've either created or saved locally, File>Send>Page by email or click in the email message body and then Edit>Insert in Message>HTML File and the whole kit-and-caboodle jumps in, background, images, sound, etc. but with OE it either creates an attachment or an HTML page with no background and the placemarkers.

    Shouldn't OE work the same?? Despite the directions "To add an HTML page, on the Insert menu, click Text from File. In the Files of type box, select HTML Files, and then find the file you want to add" and the fact I have HTML/Rich Text formatting enabled, it doesn't seem to work.

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Levin, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    I don't know any other way other than to use the Source tab then copy and paste my HTML document into OE. I tried the "To add an HTML page, on the Insert menu, click Text from File. In the Files of type box, select HTML Files, and then find the file you want to add" and it doesn't work. It wiped out my background but left the image and music intact. I play in the HTML Stationery groups and write my scripts in Notepad. As long as I have the correct path to my file which I've put in manually it works. This seems to be the accepted method for all us HTML Stationery junkies. I use a free utility called Path Copy http://home.worldonline.dk/ninotech/freeutil.htm and always preceed the path with "file:// " etc. With OE the switches need to go where as in the web they go this way / apart from the file:// it always goes like that.

    Sorry I can't help you any easier way. Bill Scott of Letterman Stationery has developed a utility called Eazy Poster but it's only any good for news groups.

    Cheers, Darny

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Hi Bruce, sorry for not getting back sooner, I actually took a day off and went sailing. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Don't understand why you are having problems with MS stationery, no matter which way I go it inserts correctly with all images. I do not have much MS stationery because I like to create my own, but what little I have left on the machine works fine. (I checked it for you).

    Try it this way, New Message>Format>Apply stationery>MORE STATIONERY - this launches a list of all your stationery and gives a preview, it also allows you to edit existing stationery and to create your own. Let me know if this solves the problem.

    Relating to the discussion about HTML pages, I just copy and paste directly into OE and everything comes out as it should. No red x's or links that do not work.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hi , Cyber ~

    The 'New Message>Format>Apply stationery>MORE STATIONERY' method inserts the background tile only and does not insert the dividers, banners, mastheads or any other images/graphics. It does, however, work with one of the methods Darny described above.

    Relating to the discussion about HTML pages, are you talking about a plain background color and text? The HTML files I have contain a background tile, several dividers and bullets, and a few graphic images, but when I copy and paste them directly into OE as you suggest, the result is a white page with the formatted text, no background tile and no images from original file. What method are you using to copy and paste an HTML file into OE?

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: OE Stationery (OE6)

    Hi Bruce, can you let me know the name of one of the MS stationery pages you are wanting to use but are unable to load easily? I can then try to figure out why you are having problems. Relating to HTML, yes I am copying and pasting everything, banners, buttons, dividers, background, images etc, no problem. The only thing that I have to add is sound, it will not carry over the audio wav using copy/paste, but everything else works well and very quickly this way. Honest it does.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •