Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Installing Network Card

    Have 2 PCs a DELL Pentium 4 and an Evesham Athlon 1800+. Have installed network card on Dell, no problem. On the Evesham the PC recognises the Make & Model of the card installed but says there is a hardware problem and the card may not work and it doesn't. I have swapped the cards around but same message on the Evesham. Even bought another make of card but still no joy. Have checked on the BIOS that PCI config is set to Auto, it is but still no joy. Have been advised by Evesham Support that I should try re-installing Windows XP but am reluctant to do. I had to do it once before on their advice , it did not resolve the problem then and caused a lot of problems. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    I only once strayed from buying Dell and that was an Evesham pc. Never again.

    Try removing any other cards you may have (and can run temporarily without) and install the NIC on its own. I've found some cards need to be in pole position to work properly. The fact that XP sees it there suggests there may be a conflict.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Thanks for that very quick response, bit late on advice re Dell v. Evesham!! Main reason went to Evesham was Showroom and real choice of Monitors but with hindsite could have gone for separates. Only problem I can forsee is if I do what you suggest is it not possible that when I re install any card I have taken out may I not get the same problemwith that card?

    Thanks for your interest.

    Brian

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    It's possible, I guess, but in theory if you put everything back as it was it should work....
    (In theory, of course, the NIC should have worked in the first place.)

    How old is the Evesham? If it is newish, Evesham should be able to recommend a NIC that works. If oldish, is there a BIOS update available?

    I am hoping this is XP Pro you have!
    Start > Programs > Administrative Tools > Computer Management >
    Click on Device Manager on the Left pane and expand the Network Adaptors on the right. If the card is recognised it should be there.
    Right click > Properties - does the Troubleshooter do any good?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (15.3 KB, 0 views)

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Hi Lief
    The Evesham is 12 Months old, the NIC is the one they recommend. I had tried netgear, that worked OK in the Dell but not in the Evesham so bought the one they recommend. Their answer to the problem is re-install Windows XP which incidently is the Home version. The card is not in Network Adaptors in Device Maanager it is below in 'Other Devices' as a Yellow Questiom Mark and called Ethernet Controller. When I try to reinstall Drivers I get the window as shown. This is also the window that shows on start up with the NIC installed but a balloon on the Desktop Tasbar advices me that it has found the hardware and confirms the model,etc.

    Brian
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Can you post the make and model number of the card you're installing?
    I'm not sure I'll be able to help much more, but others more experienced than I will soon drop by....

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Hi Lief

    The 2 NIC's I have tried are Netgear FA311 and, the one Evesham recommends, Intel Pro100Desktop NIC.

    Brian

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    This may seem like an obvious question, but are you using the correct drivers?

    Have you tried to download the most recent drivers from the vendor's website, and use those?
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Hi Bryan

    Thanks for the interest. It's becoming a bit of a saga now but the more the merrier. I am only grateful for all you guys making suggestions. Yes I have downloaded the latest Drivers for both cards and it still doesn't work. The fact that they both install on the Dell and not on the Evesham begs the question! Both are running XP Home BUT there could always be a problem on one of the OS's, I suppose. Nobody has suggested reinstalling XP, except for Evesham but that seems to be their answer to any problem they do not understand.

    Brian

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Brian,

    Have a look at the articles listed on this page at Intel's site, via http://tinyurl.com

    There are 5 articles that deal with Invalid data installing on XP. Although they are all for XPP, they may be applicable to XPH as well.

    As for why no one has recommended reinstalling, I try not to, because it's a pretty drastic measure. There are usually fixes that don't involve reformatting and reinstalling.

    P.S. I had to use tinyurl.com for the link because the Lounge couldn't handle some of the original characters in the actual page name from Intel.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Hi Bryan

    Thanks for that, looks very interesting <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> . Will have to bite the bullet and go into the registry. Will let you know how I get on.

    Brian

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    One thing we know: if both cards work in your Dell PC, the cards themselves are not defective. That leaves us with the following possibilities to eliminate:
    <UL><LI>A BIOS problem
    <LI>A software problem with Windows XP
    <LI>A problem with the motherboard in the Evesham[/list]These are the obvious possibilities, to me. I would first look for a BIOS update from Evesham. You will need the exact model of mainboard that you have installed. Don't hesitate to contact them if you have questions, and don't let them tell you that you don't need to try it. I'm mentioning this because what they think you need may not solve the problem, and so far hasn't. Insist if you need to. You paid for their product.

    In looking at that page, it appears that they use the VIA chipset on their mainboards, although whether that's in your system or not I can't say. But you can, by looking at the Device Manager. To get there, click on Start - Run and in the box enter devmgmt.msc. Click on the plus symbol next to the entry labeled System Devices. If you see 'VIA' in there somewhere, then I'd recommend downloading and installing the very latest Via 4-in-1 drivers. Get them from Via's website, as the ones listed at Evesham's page are out of date. Obtain them here: http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2 These are fairly simple to install, just download the EXE to your desktop and run it.

    Frankly, I think Bryan's on the right track, given the error message in the screen shot you posted. In addition to digging into the registry, you could try running a repair by booting with the Windows XP CD-ROM and following the prompts.

    If all of these fail, it could be a hardware problem rooted in the mainboard. It happens, although it's rare. I've had a Netgear card refuse to work with a specific motherboard, but replacing it with a 3Com solved it. The card worked on a different motherboard. I've also had an ATI card cause all kinds of problems with an ASUS motherboard, which was ultimately resolved with a BIOS update, but I gave up on ATI at that point and became a Nvidia fan.

    I hope that you find the problem - don't hesitate to come back and ask questions, and if you solve the problem, let us know that too!
    -Mark

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orpington, Kent, England
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Installing Network Card

    Hi Lief, Bryan & Mark <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

    SUCCESS!!! I went into the Intel Web Site as Bryan suggested, found the articles, went into the Registry and, although not quite how they described what I would find, bit the bullet and set permissions to Allow. Re-booted and , voila, my network card is installed. Now all I need to do is set up the network.

    Once again thanks to you all for your support and help.

    Regards

    Brian.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •