Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    Following are some lines from a report generated by running my virus checker. In my previous installation I only had one account (the default administrator one) and I never saw this kind of result. Is this something to be concerned about?

    Thanks,

    Chris (Hunt)

    Cocuments and SettingsLocalServiceNTUSER.DAT Cannot open; not checked!
    Cocuments and SettingsLocalServicentuser.dat.LOG Cannot open; not checked!
    Cocuments and SettingsLocalServiceLocal SettingsApplication DataMicrosoftWINDOWSUSRCLASS.DAT Cannot open; not checked!
    Cocuments and SettingsLocalServiceLocal SettingsApplication DataMicrosoftWINDOWSUsrClass.dat.LOG Cannot open; not checked!
    Cocuments and SettingsNetworkServiceNTUSER.DAT Cannot open; not checked!
    Cocuments and SettingsNetworkServicentuser.dat.LOG Cannot open; not checked!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    No cause for concern, those are pieces of the XP registry and they're held open for exclusive use. What virus checker are you running?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    Agreed - the virus checker should be sufficiently intelligent to know this, otherwise you shouldn't be letting it loose on your hard disk (IMHO)...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    I have AVG from Grisoft - the 'professional' version. As I say I don't remember seeing these when I only had the one administrator account. So you think I shouldn't be seeing these messages because the Virus Checker should know it can't get into the files?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    Ah, are you running it with less than administrative privileges? That would explain it, or partially. At any rate, I've seen AVG do odd things, but on the whole it's a reliable and decent system. Why the developers didn't take these things into account, I can't say. I've used variants of the Norton products for years, McAfee in the past, and neither of them complained about not being able to access certain files....but both have given me grief in other ways. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    As long as you know what they are, I wouldn't worry about it too much. AVG comes highly recommended by many people, and you can safely write this off as a quirk.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima, Japan
    Posts
    904
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    Thanks Mark, how do I check and make sure I am running it with adminisistrator priveleges? I tried running it by logging on as the administrator but it gave me the same warnings.

    Chris

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    If the username you're logged in with is a member of the Administrator's group, then you're running it with Admin privileges. The only other way is to use the RunAs command, unless you've specifically used that you're running any given program in the security context of the group the user is in.

    Phew. Whatta sentence.

    I thought you said that you were running it under a limited account. In my experience that's par for the course with AVG.
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Virus checker can't open some files (Pro)

    I have been using the regular free version of AVG without incident for almost 2 years now and only encounter those messages when running from less than Admin privs - otherwise, all else AOK.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •