Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    One of our customers is trying to install xp pro on its compaq professional workstation ap550, but not having much luck getting a stable system. I've looked on the compaq website and all i've found is that there's limited support for xp on the ap550.
    I don't know anything about the nature of the stability, just that they are trying to install windows/office xp.
    Does anyone have any experience of the combination?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    Make sure that the customer has XP drivers for all components. Make sure the system BIOS is the latest and greatest. Make sure that the hardware capacity is suffficient to support XP - at least a PIII 550 Mhz & 256 MB RAM (512 MB RAM would be better). Drivers are usually the biggest problem.

    hth,
    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    As the gentleman said above. Most the time it is a compatibility problem with hardware and drivers being used by Compaq. While WinXp is being installed they should run the compatibility check and read the report. Chances are hardware and driver issues. After they get it up and running they will need to find compatible drivers and software. I'm not sure of the speed of the CPU and how much memory they have installed but rest assured the ( CPU ) needs to be at around (700 or 800 MHZ minimum) and 256MB ram to run SMOOTHLY ( being the key word ) and more if they run a lot of video stuff & programs.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    -------------------------------------------------
    just that they are trying to install windows/office xp
    -------------------------------------------------

    Also, I hope they are trying to install only one at a time. Suggest installing only XP, then making sure THAT runs OK for a while. Then install Office after you are sure that XP is running fine.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    You won't find much XP support from Compaq on the AP550 as they primarily support W2K on Professional and Deskpro series. There are known Compaq & M$ issues when attempting to upgrade or migrate to an XP environment and they do evolve around ACPI & video drivers, software, and in some cases BIOS. Some workarounds are complicated if they work at all and there are claims to securing system stability for XP by using the Dynamic Update Feature in Windows XP Setup to download drivers not included on the setup discs and update critical drivers that are included on the discs needed during installation.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    Cheers, that more or less what I expected, I looked on the compaq website but I found little info. What you say suggests that it's the machines and not the users causing the problems;-)

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    Yep that would be my guess. I won't tell you what I think Of Compaq but what I will say is their is nothing like building your own Computer. You always know what you have and you can always build it to your liking.

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    Yup, that's my view as well, I haven't "bought" a pc since '93. Shame it's not practical for the corporates...

  9. #9
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: will xp run a Compaq AP550 (any)

    Tell them to call me. <img src=/S/bubbles.gif border=0 alt=bubbles width=31 height=17>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •