Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    I read in WOW 8.1 that Office 2000 SP3 is a 'good thing'. I have a set of office 2000 Premium SR1 CD's. The About screen identifies the producr as SR1. The WOW letter is not clear whether SR1 or SR1a is the prerequisite? Can you clarify please. If I need SR1, is it still available?
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    See MSKB article OFF2000: Overview of Office 2000 Service Pack 3. You need to have at least SR1a; the MSKB article has a link to another article about obtaining SR1a.

    Also see the replies to <post#=214541>post 214541</post#> in this forum.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    Thanks, I will follow up all references. Was there ever a WOW issue dealing with SR1-a?
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    There were several in the winter and spring of 2000 - Vol 5-n15 looks to be the most comprehensive.
    Wendell

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    The SR-1a CDs say SR-1. You most likely are fine. As I very vaguely recall, the SR-1 was fixed so quickly that no CDs were issued that were not really SR-1a. I think I am repeating myself... <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    You are corrrect. Using the MS article, I identified the version on the CD. Thanks all
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    I have a similar issue - thinking that I had SR1a, I downloaded the SP3 pack, but when I go to install it, just after the EULA I get this error: "The expected version of the software was not found on your system."

    Checking various Microsoft docs and the Lounge, I haven't found the path to my answer yet. My question is: is getting the whole SR-1a enchilada my only recourse here? Here are details on my situation....

    Windows 2000 SP1 -- 5.00.2195 --- purchased as installed by Dell in July 2001
    ---needs updating -- I thought I'd do Office 2000 first, then the SP2 update
    ---only system updates were to Internet Explorer - to 5.5. (about nine months ago)

    Office Professional 2000 SP-1 (purchased from Dell)
    --- Word version/build - in Help > About: SR-1 9.0.3821 (this matches info listed in WOW 5.15 --- Mar. 2000)
    -- in winword.exe -- Properties > Version : 9.0.0.5302 (which does not match WOW 5.15 -- should be 9.0.3822)
    --- Excel, Access all match

    --- NOTE: I did not have Outlook installed, nor Publisher or Small Business Tools. Does this affect the install?

    Any ideas? (If I have to order the CD for SR1a I'll do it -- I'm just a bit nervous about installing SR1a when it seems I already have it?)

    Many thanks in advance -----

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    > -- Word version/build - in Help > About: SR-1 9.0.3821 (this matches info listed in WOW 5.15 --- Mar. 2000)
    > -- in winword.exe -- Properties > Version : 9.0.0.5302 (which does not match WOW 5.15 -- should be 9.0.3822)

    I installed SP2 (not SP3 yet, no rush...) and my corresponding numbers are

    -- Word version/build - in Help > About: 9.0.4402 SR-1
    -- in winword.exe -- Properties > Version : 9.0.0.5302

    Which just goes to show something, I don't know what. Maybe try loading SP2 before SP3 and see if that makes a difference?

    Office 2000 Update: Service Pack 2 (SP-2)

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    Hmmm. That's interesting -- but I'm trusting to Woody's (and Microsoft's) info that SP2 is rolled into SP3 - the only thing that they require for SP3 is SR1a --- the most recent WOW on this was 8.01, and Woody says "go for it". But, I ain't getting there......
    I've been scanning the Knowledge Base on this, but haven't found anything about the right version, or this error message yet.

    thx

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    --UNITED STATES of AMERICA--
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Office 2000 SR-1a (SR1)

    Another note: Is it safe to install SR/SP2? From all that was in Woody's, I thought it was best not to install it.

    However, I don't use Outlook, so I wouldn't have problems with it anyway......

    I guess my question still remains - has anyone reported similar problems installing SP3, even though you have SR1a? Let me know. Thanks loads ----

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •