Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Win ME to Win 98

    I installed ME about a month ago and I,ve come to the conclusion that I prefer Win 98 with which I am more familiar.
    Is it possible to install Win 98 over the top of ME?

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    No, you are going to do a clean install, but back up ALL data before starting.

    Unless, you did a upgrade and saved to disk so you could uninstall Me. It was a question asked when running the upgrade install of Me.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    Thanks Dave. It's as I feared.

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    For shame! Joining the millions of us who don't care too much for WinME, eh?

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    Hi Al,
    I tried not to prejudge or be influenced by others but It just doesn't feel right.
    BTW, congratulations on your deserved elevation to WMVP-land. <img src=/S/clever.gif border=0 alt=clever width=15 height=15>

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    By the way, in MOST cases if you install Me and leave it alone except for the Windows updates it will run just fine. It was NOT built to be tweaked by anything, anybody or any third party software. <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    About three years ago, when I got my most recent computer (the first was Kaypro!), I went with Win ME. Only then did I discover some very strong anti-Win ME feelings among various bulletin boards and web sites. Frankly, I've been as satisfied with that OS as I've been with Win 98 and 2000 Professional, both at various times on my office computer, the operating systems not within my control. All of them freeze, in spite of claims that 2000 doesn't--even with ample memory and reasonable applications running. I've done some minor tweaking with ME and have had no problems that I haven't had with the other OS's. Learning a new OS and becoming comfortable with it take some time. Before you have to go through the hassle of changing an OS, I'd say give it more time. There are also a number of net resources that deal with tweaking ME. It's also interesting to note similar tips and tweaks for XP.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stafford, Staffordshire, England
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Win ME to Win 98

    Thanks Dennis for the advice. I will stick it out a bit longer and get more used to it. You're quite right!
    Changing an OS can be a real hassle.

    Cheers

    Rob
    <font color=blue><font face="Script MT Bold"><big>Rob</big></font face=script></font color=blue>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •