Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    I'm not sure this is the place to ask this question. My concern has nothing directly to do with MS-Word, but maybe someone here can help.

    I run a learning lab on an industrial site. Our courseware library has several pieces produced by "Catapult--an IBM Company." This courseware dates back to 1997 and includes courses on such old applications as Excel 97. The courseware includes an on-line help tool called the "PBT Desktop." To read a topic, I'm supposed to click on a link. For example, the page I'm looking at has links to Modules 1 through 8. This page also displays the following information:

    "Adobe Acrobat: Acrobat Reader 2.1--
    You must have Acrobat Reader installed to view Catapult

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Personally I would try the final 16-bit version of Acrobat Reader, 3.01, still downloadable if you select Windows 3.1 - if you haven't yet tried it! You're always going to have trouble running vintage software...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Lucas,

    This is just a shot in the dark, but I would bet that you CBT vendor hard coded the path to Acrobat Reader.

    I have Acrobat Reader 4.0 and Full Acrobat 5.0 installed on my Win2K box and the paths are:

    C:Program FilesAdobeAcrobat x.0readerAcrord32.exe where x is either 4 or 5, depending on the version.

    What you might want to try is create a new directory C:Program FilesAdobeAcrobat 2.0reader and copy the Acrord32.exe to this directory and rename it acroread.exe

    This may be a workaround.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Lucas,

    The name of the Acrobat reader application changed from Acroread.exe to Acrord32.exe at version 4 (or possibly 3). You might check which .exe is associated with .pdf files - in Windows Explorer, select View/Folder Options... or Tools/Folder Options... (depending on your Windows and IE version), then click the File Types tab. Select Adobe Acrobat Document, and click Edit... Select open, and click Edit... again. If you see the path to Acroread.exe in the box labeled "Application used to perform action", the old version of the reader is still associated with .pdf files. In that case, you should replace it with the current version. The command should read
    "crogram files...AcroRd32.exe" "%1"
    where the full path to AcroRd32.exe should be substituted.
    Others may come up with better suggestions if this doesn't help.

    Note: this thread may be moved to another Forum by a moderator, since it's not really about Word.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,560
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Bryan and Hans: I've been monkeying around with this thing in the meantime, and here are some more pieces to this puzzle.

    The files I'm trying to open with Reader reside in a shared directory--on the LAN, in other words. The "Open" dialog box from Reader does not show the files when the files of type window says PDF. If I change files of type to All files, the files appear. However, they don't look like PDFs. The file names and extensions read, e.g., "EXL97BB.HLP." So, as far as Acrobat Reader is concerned, these ain't PDFs--they're "Help" files!

    In Windows Explorer, I can double-click on one of those Help files and open it. Now I can see hyperlinks, some of which will simply launch another typical Help window. However, some of those hyperlinks try to open PDFs, and that's where I hit the wall.

    However, I've found a way do what I want, and it was just too obvious. I've been trying to open these PDFs at an administrative computer. The computers we use for instruction have the courseware in question loaded on their hard drives. So, on one of those student computers, I did a search for the PDF files on the C:/ drive, and there they are. And they open just fine with Reader ver. 4.0. The really odd thing, though, is that those same PDFs do NOT appear when I search for them manually in Windows Explorer! They reside at c:desktop, but the path will not appear in Windows Explorer! I can see them only when I use "Start > Find...Files and Folders." Ain't that weird? I've already checked to see if these files are hidden, but no.... Any thoughts on this behavior?

    Hans, I figure the moderator will probably move my post, but that's OK. I know the Lounge is primarily for Windows and Office, not for non-Microsoft applications, but I've come to trust the advice I get here. I posted to the Word forum after I couldn't figure out a better place to post.

    Thanks, everybody!

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Jumping in a little late here, but if you think it's an older version of Acrobat that will solve the problem, they're available at:
    oldversion.com, including Version 2.

    There's lots of other "older versions" archived on this site too.

    Alan

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    Technically you don't need old Acrobat Reader versions to be installed - just ignore the error message and use applications this way: right-click the link, from pop-up menu choose Propreties, copy the path and name of PDF file and paste it into Run dialog box. The latest versions are capable to open PDF files created with older versions of Acrobat without any problems. The cause of the error message was that older (16-bit) versions of Adobe Acrobat have the name ACROREAD.EXE, the newer ones (32-bit) - AcroRd32.exe.
    If this error message bothers you, you can copy AcroRd32.exe into the same folder where it is (by right-clicking and dragging dropping it) and rename the file "Copy of AcroRd32.exe" to ACROREAD.EXE.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Do I need old Acrobat Reader? (2000 (Win2000))

    <hr>you can copy AcroRd32.exe into the same folder where it is (by right-clicking and dragging dropping it)<hr>
    Not to show my bias, but if you're a keyboard enthusiast, hold the Ctrl key down & type CV. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •