Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Woody's Sign In

  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Woody's Sign In

    Now I have a problem that every time I go into Woody's Lounge it asks me to sign in. In the past I would sign in just once and about n (could be 1 to 8) weeks later it would ask me to log in again.
    When I go "Back" to Woody's Portal and select to go to the Lounge it asks me to sign in again. In the past it would automatically sign me in.

    I'm not a happy camper at the moment.
    Can somebody please help?

    Pat <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    I have used a bookmark ever since I started visiting the Lounge on a regular basis. I use Mozilla, but I assume you could format this for IE as well.

    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/start_page...YY&option=Login

    In place of the X's you would put YOUR username. Replace the Y's with your Lounge password. Let me know if this works for you. (I also have an IE6 favorite of exactly the same construction, and it also works.)

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Pat - I suspect this may be linked to your other problem.
    Quit IE and find where your IE temp files and cookies are stored (you may need to go in after a reboot) and nuke the lot.

    Are you having any problems with any other sites?

    What OS are you running?

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    When you say "nuke the lot", do you mean to delete every file in c:WindowsTemporary Internet Files ?

    Problems with other sites, I haven't noticed although I cannot get into JobNet (a local job search site). The site keeps telling me that they will be down for 8 hours on Jan 18, so it's probably happening there too. So it seems you are right about it being an IE problem.

    Win 95 is my OS, I know it's as old as the hills, but I cannot afford an upgrade just yet.

    Pat

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Hi Al, thanks for responding.
    As for your suggestion I am sure it will probably work, but I want to solve why I have my problem, as it seems to be happening to other sites as well.
    Thanks again.
    Pat

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Yep - everything! Check the link Phil posted in <post#=216057>post 216057</post#> for an assisted method. (I'd go for option 5)

    Just as a BTW - how big is your Temporary Internet Files setting? How much free space do you have on your HD? Have you done a defrag and/or Scandisk recently?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    My Temporary Files Setting was 32mb I have increased that to 205mb.

    I have 2.23gb left on my c: drive.

    What do you mean by option 5 of Phil's link?

    Pat

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    The directories contained in c:WindowsTemporary Internet FilesContent.IE5 are:
    446a92en
    55ctb425
    89abcdef
    E43wt30l

    All these directories hold many files, .gif, cookies etc.

    Are all these directories to be deleted as well.

    Or do I just bite the bullet and run clean9.bat in DOS?

    Ignore my question about option 5 of Phil's link.

    Pat <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    All these

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Hi, Al ~

    I like your bookmark method and tried it out. Are you having to click on sign-in again but without having to type in your info?

    It takes me to the main page, but not signed in. I then just clicked the 'Login' button without putting any data in the boxes and it took me to a page reporting 'username/password could not be found', but loaded my skin preference and redirected me back to the main page shortly, but this time signed in.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Yes - I would clear the whole lot. The BAtch file (clean9.bat) should do that for you.

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    Bruce / Al,

    My shortcuts take me straight thru, logged in, without the need for the username/password stuff. IE is set to allow 1st party cookies, maybe that's the difference.

    The shortcut to my Control Panel is

    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/login.pl?Cat=

    and for the Main Index it's

    http://www.wopr.com/cgi-bin/w3t/wwwthreads.pl?Cat=
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    TimOz ~

    I do have IE to accept first party cookies, but I cleared the TIF and tried Al's auto login url and it does as I mentioned previously, but it apparently does have me logged in - I just need to click to another page within the lounge before my preferences are recognized.

    Thanks Al & Tim!

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    If you don't log out, you shouldn't need that method, Al. Of course, if you are deleting automatically site cookies or something, then you have no choice; but I allow site cookies and don't log out and never need a special shortcut to get into the Lounge logged in as myself. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Woody's Sign In

    I am with Charlotte on this one, allow cookies and never need to login again, until I strip out ALL of my cookies.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •