Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Problem with Batch File

    Problem with Batch File
    Windows 2000

    I have a working Win 98 batch file that has the following commands that I

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Batch File

    Where is F:? - local or networked?

    Can you manually enter
    F:
    then
    CD AppsNbsBuildMast_Prg
    at a command prompt and navigate there?

    When you run the batch file from a prompt, are you in the same folder as the batch file itself?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Batch File

    Hi Leif

    F: is network

    I'm in the same dir as the batch file

    I know that, however I want to automate it, any other suggestion? Why does it wokk on Win98 and not Win2k?

    John

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Batch File

    Well, I don't know why it won't work!
    I created an identically named folder path on a Network and can connect to it from a W2K (SP3) workstation here using the same batch file. (I am running this on a full domain network, though.)

    Can you manually get there from the command prompt (as I asked above)?

    Can you run a simpler batch file:
    F:
    to take you to the F: drive? If not, it may point to a mapping problem.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Problem with Batch File

    Hi Leif

    I tried it from a cmd.exe (Command Prompt) and it works, it does not work from a Command.com (MS-DOS Prompt) any clues?

    Thanks, John

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Problem with Batch File

    command.com still exist in Windows 2000?

    [playing with console window]

    Changing to a network drive works fine for me. Is your F drive listed when you type net use in your command.com window?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •