Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Remove NetWare

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Angels Camp, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Remove NetWare

    I can

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    Right_click the Network icon on your desktop and select Properties.
    Right_click your LAN connection and select Properties.
    What have you got listed there?
    Anything to do with Netware?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Angels Camp, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    There are 3 items checked. Client for MS Networks, File & Printer Sharing for MS Networks and Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    Check your Services - there must be something running somewhere...

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Angels Camp, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    I went through the line items (Computer Management; Services & Applications; Services) and the only one that looks like it would be related to NetWare is "Client Service for NetWare" which is set for Automatic Startup but is not shown as "started". "Routing and Remote Access" is disabled. Is there something else I should specifically look for.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    It wants to start automatically but doesn't (perhaps can't)? Sounds like it could be the source of at least some of your error mesages. Try changing the Startup type to Manual.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    Client Service for Netware definitely looks like the culprit - it is unable to start (automatically) at boot up, hence your error messages.
    Jefferson's answer is probably the easiest (I'd be tempted to go straight for a 'Disabled' setting!), but you could try adding Netware as client service in your Network setup, rebooting, then removing it - it may just remove the service for you.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Angels Camp, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Remove NetWare

    I tried disabling Client Service for NetWare and all but one of the error messages in the System Event viewer went away. I then tried your suggestion of adding NetWare as client service then deleting it after a reboot. Lo and behold, the icon for NetWare in My NetWork Places was gone. I am still getting one system event viewer error message. The Source is Server, the Event ID is 2506 and the message is "The value named Ther was no Announce in the srever's Registry key LanmanServerParameters was invalid. The value was ignored, and processing continued." Sounds like a Registry setting issue. Any thoughts on this remaining issue?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •