Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    I just moved my sites to a new computer. When I go to publish a single changed page from this new machine, FP thinks EVERY page needs to be published, which is not the case. Right now I'm dragging the changed pages to publish them (using File | Publish, and dragging the changed files), but this is an invitation to error.

    What do I need to do to set every page to "up to date"? a little VBA?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    I have no idea where this information is stored, but I eventually just let FP publish the whole site again to avoid those irritating messages. (Non-HTML assets, such as PDFs, seem to generate many more of those irritating messages for some reason.)

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    What version of FP? Do you have IIS installed and you are publishing it locally? OS Windows 2000/XP? Or are you publishing it to a web server externally? If you publish the external site down to your hard drive and save the files there - when you publish again it will compare and publish only the updates you have made (and not the entire site.)

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    1. 2002
    2. no, and no
    3. XP
    4. yes
    <hr>If you publish the external site down to your hard drive and save the files there<hr>
    That looks like a clever new wrinkle <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30> ~ the target is first e.g., c:/someplace ? And the second is the remote site?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    Save a local copy to: Cocuments and SettingsyourUserNameMy DocumentsMy Webs
    You publish your entire web (from within FP) to your local My Webs folder - then you should be able to configure from Tools | options | Publish
    click 'changed pages only' and 'determine changes by comparing source and destination webs'

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Faifax, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    altho it's too late ~ I already published the entire site ~ check me on my understanding: If I publish an entire web to "Cocuments and ... My Websjunk" instead of to TheHostMachine, "the date problem" is fixed? The "local copy" is actually the web "source"...

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Keene, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Moving a site to a new computer (all)

    If you publish your web from within frontpage to mywebs (it is considered a local web) then this would be your base copy that would compare with the web copy. In that capacity FP would only have to compare edited/new pages then send the changed ones. I have only used 'my webs' once for a web site - and it did compare My Websmywebsite with the remote website. It only uploaded new or edited pages. Now I only use IIS because it simplifies the process for me (and I have also switched to Studio MX and GoLive.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •