Star Lounger
    Thanks

Project v. Other Workflow Apps (MS Project 2002)

The facilities department here is looking to purchase a project management application. We are an MS Office/Windows organization. Our users are not particularly techno-savvy.

The facilities department is looking for an easy to use application to: organize date/times of work; appropriate use of resources; location reservations; expense accounting; departments within organization with whom they are working. They want to be able to keep track of 20-30 projects at a time and run reports (calendars, mostly) of what is going on when.

I have no experience with MS Project or any other application. I am hoping some of you out there have experience and can either help know what questions to ask the facilities department to help move them in the right direction; know if Project will help best or if there are other applications out there with better support/use; etc.

Thank you, as always, for your assistance with this!

Thanks

Re: Project v. Other Workflow Apps (MS Project 2002)

One thing you need to consider is that a scheduling tool is just that, a scheduling tool. An accounting system is used to track expenses. Trying to make your scheduling tool act like an accounting system will give you a headache. One thing you can do is import data from your accounting system into the scheduling tool to better track actual costs, however, that is another project.

Saying that, there are numerous scheduling applications out there that can be used to track projects, workflow, starting and ending dates, using resources, etc. You just need to know how to set them up and maintain them.

I have used MS Project, Primavera, and other scheduling tools however find that with the proper training and knowledge, both tools (and others) can meet your scheduling objectives. If you are able to program, then the sky is the limit with what you can accomplish.