Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Frozen Rodent

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Frozen Rodent

    I've had this W2K system with this mouse for some time but recently for no apparent reason the mouse pointer will freeze on the screen and refuse to move. The left and right buttons still work but the pointer refuses to move. I kill all the applications and reboot and everything is back to normal, for a while. This seems to be happening at random times once or twice a day.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks;
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    Chris,
    1.) Have you look at the task manager to see if any process is 'hogging' the cpu?
    2.) Have you got the most recent mouse driver?
    3.) What changes have you made to the system recently?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    There's nothing showing particular activity in the task manager except the idle process and everything else looks like it's working fine. If I use the keyboard commands to open, close, work with various apps everything seems to work just fine.

    I'm using the generic MS PS/2 driver version 5.0.2183.1. Except for service packs I haven't done any specific updates, but it's worked OK for a couple of years so I haven't seen a need to update it.

    Recently I haven't made any changes to my system. I did try re running SP2 but that doesn't seem to have fixed anything.
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    Seems like something has corrupted your mouse driver.
    1.) Have you done a virus scan?
    2.) Is the mouse a MS mouse? If so, you could try the Intellipoint drivers - most recent is 4.1. They seem to be stable on all the Win2k systems I monitor. If it is not an MS mouse get the most current Win2k driver from the mouse vendor.
    3.) You could try Win2k SP-3. It also has been stable on the systems here.

    Note: Be sure you've got a backup before changing drivers or applying SP-3.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    I have Norton Corp version 7.51.856 running with live checking enabled. It does a full scan every night with daily updates. I'm also behind a corp firewall.

    It's an off brand third party mouse I use because I WANT a real middle mouse button for a lot of unix/cad stuff I do. I've tried using the wheel as a middle mouse button but if you use it a lot it's just not very stable. If anyone knows where I can get a three button optical mouse I'd be for ever grateful.

    I've thought about going to SP-3 but the corp. IT guys haven't pushed it out yet and I couldn't remember what you guys had recommended.

    I suggested some time ago that it would be a good idea to have a web page with a listing of the major service packs, updates, - - - with a brief comment about each. I know Woody reviews them in the news letters but I can't always act on an update when it's reviewed and there are times I'm called on to work on someone else
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    Chris,
    1.) Can you use Norton's Live update? Have you updated NAV recently? Do your corporate guys push updates without you being aware?
    2.) Can you temporarily disable NAV to see if it is the culprit? It has been known to do strange things to systems.
    3.) You can always search the forum or some part of it for comments about a service pack or update. You can also search the archives of the various newsletters. While the majority opinion of an update may be favorable certain hardware and/or software combinations could be trouble. So, I think searching and reading (yeah I know it is time consuming) is the way to go.

    Joe

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    As I said in the posting above:
    "It does a full scan every night with daily updates."

    I've been using this same version of NAV for months without any problem so I doubt that's the issue.

    I do search both the newsletter archives and the forums. I don't post unless I've done at least some level of searching. I don't like to bother people if I don't need to but there is no standard for labeling software. Windows 2000 can be known variously as Windows 2000, Win2K, Win 2K, W2K, Win 2000 or any number of similar derivatives. Similarly a service pack may be know as Service Pac 3, ServicePac3 or SP3. Then there are the combinations such as W2Ksp3 and other variations. And if you do search on something like W2Ksp3 you will probably end up with hundreds of hits because everyone puts this in (or should) as part of the info included with their posting. You can add other info to try to filter these but at some point you end up filtering out everything because you don't hit the exact permutation that's in the text. As I said above, I don't post unless I've spent some time searching. Generally about 20-30 minutes but at some point I give up and ask.
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Auckland, North Island, New Zealand
    Posts
    83
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    Sorry if this is a stupid suggestion but have you checked the hardware - eg crap on the rollers inside the mouse or dodgy plug connections etc??

    I once spent a lot of time checking the circuit board in a video recorder to then discover that the cable was plugged into the wrong jack <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15>

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    I understand that you do daily updates. That is usually just the virus database. I didn't know if your corp IT guys let you do program updates also. Many people swear by NAV, but many others just swear at & about it. Try to disable it for a while (maybe after your daily scan & while you are working locally) to see if the problem still happnes. As far as service packs go IMHO the newsletters would be as good as the forums unless there is a specific hardware or software compatibility issue. Do you also use the MS newsgroups? They can be a good source of information. Keep in mind that you'll see much more negative comments as the very vast majority of original posts are from people with problems. It is easy to get a negative feeling about almost any MS product that way. Anyway, you can always post a question here. I don't believe that anyone will jump down your throat even if it is a fairly old subject.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    Maybe the mouse is about wore out are cheesed up. Do you have a spare mouse you could try? <img src=/S/mice.gif border=0 alt=mice width=50 height=25>

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mundelein, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    198
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Frozen Rodent

    For what it's worth, yes I have. I clean it (and other peoples) whenever it starts to get sticky (I have that, drives me nuts!). Besides, if that was the problem rebooting wouldn't fix it.
    Thanks,

    C DeWitt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •