Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Sometimes web pages are unreadable (particularly with those people who think black backgrounds and vibrant colors are "cool"). The way to easily read pages like this is to go to IE Tools | Options | Accessibility and check the box on for "Ignore colors specified on Web pages". Obviously, this takes 4 clicks to set and then 4 more clicks to undo. Does any one have a script or something attached to a custom toolbar buttoon that would allow this setting to be toggled on/off with a single click?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    A quick & dirty solution to this problem is to just select the text you want to read with the mouse, so that it's highlighted. Sometimes that does wonders for legibility. OK, for occasional brief use, but your option is better when a lot of material is involved.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Interesting question. First let us see what that button does in your registry. The first time you use that button, the following vaules are added to the registry:

    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerSettingsAlways Use My Colors: 0x00000001
    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerSettingsAlways Use My Font Face: 0x00000000
    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerSettingsAlways Use My Font Size: 0x00000000
    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerStylesUser Stylesheet: ""
    HKEY_USERS.DEFAULTSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerStylesUse My Stylesheet: 0x00000000

    Now, the first one is clearly important -- but it seems to be necessary but not sufficient. Hmmmm.... the other four values are essentially set to "zero" -- so why isn't it JUST the first one?? The first one is the only one that seems to address just the colors and nothing else.

    Duh, it seems that the first time you click "OK" in the Accessibility box, ALL of the values needed for the Accessibility settings are added to your registry. However, since I only placed a check in the colors box, it was the only value set to something other than zero.

    However, simply changing that registry value to "1" and Refreshing the screen is not doing th trick. Time to dig some more....

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    OK, this is simply bizarre. The registry value clearly is linked to the Accessibility check box. If I set the check box in the dialog box, the registry value changes -- and the screen is refreshed with the modified colors.

    However, if I approach it the other way around -- modifying the registry value and manually Refreshing the screen, the colors do NOT change. Something else has to occur -- but I am not sure what. No other permanent registry changes are made. The entire IE registry settings are queried, however, this happens with each manual Refresh as well. So there is no net difference that I can identify.
    _______________

    The image belows demonstrates the enigma. My personal settings here on the lounge are for the green lizard skin background. If I go into the Accessibility dialog box and check "Ignore colors..." then click "OK", the screen is refreshed to a bright white background with black plain text and blue for links -- as pictured.

    However, if I modify the registry value for "Always Use My Colors" from "1" to "0", and then requery the Accessibility dialog box -- the box and my registry are in complete agreement. BUT... IE is still displaying "My Colors" -- despite my Refreshing the screen.
    ____________________

    Something else needs to be done -- because everything is correct if I EXIT and REOPEN Internet Explorer. There is some other advanced 'Refresh' that needs to occur. I remember something about this a long time ago... Time to ask the experts. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    WRONG!! I stand corrected.

    There is a major difference between the entire re-reading of the registry's IE settings and with a simple Refresh. The Refresh button ONLY refreshes the URL.

    We need the script command to "Reload" IE's settings. That should be possible... give me some time.
    _______________________

    The overall solution is quite simple. For anyone who wants to help in my absence, here are the steps:


    1) Create a script to toggle the "colors" registy value between "1" and "0" -- plus have this script "reload" IE so that the colors value is re-read and utilized.
    2) Place this script inside an HTML file (.htm) and move this file into the "%Windows%Web" folder on your Hard Drive.
    3) Add a Context Menu Extension for IE by making the appropriate registry modifications in this key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMenuExt
    (I will be able to make the registry changes in seconds -- once we get the script up and running).

    When all is said and done, you will have right-click option to Toggle On/Off Colors. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> GOOD IDEA! I like it.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    I know it is not the ideal solution to the original answer, but FYI, the Windows standard Ctrl+A (to Select All) seems to select and highlight the entire page in one hit...

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Of course! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I forgot the obvious, because a page I access routnely has only section on it that needs the "treatment" (anyway, that's my story). <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Hey, it works for me! I can't find any guru who can tell me how to make IE "reload" or "reinitialize". IE obviously does it when you click OK in that Accessibility box, but at least for today, all the gurus have been silent. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

    Obviously, there must be SOME call that can be made to have IE re-read the registry. I don't know what it is....

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    The best thing I have found was I do NOT go back to that web page. It must be VERY important for me to go back. I even send the webmaster a email and let them know. If it is a company web site I will let some one who might care why their pages are NOT being hit.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Hi, Dave ~

    <img src=/S/ranton.gif border=0 alt=ranton width=66 height=37> I completely agree and typically adhere to your philosophy. Furthermore, I do find discontentment with what seems to be a growing pervasiveness with general apathy towards the customer and the ease with which to do so with the ability to side-step P2P contact.

    I am a firm believer that when price and product are the same, success is dependent upon customer service.....quality customer service. <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>

    pardon the <img src=/S/jollyroger.gif border=0 alt=jollyroger width=29 height=18>

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Reply to self: <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    OK, so far no one can give me script to do this. So, the right-click option is out -- but, the concept is not. To force IE to re-read the registry, I need to "broadcast a WM_SETTINGCHANGE message to all top level windows". This is partially described in the MSDN here.

    I can do this in Visual Basic, so I will need create an applet that will toggle the registry value and then broadcast this command. I don't think I can easily tie this into a right-click extension (that is more conveniently done in script), but I can make it a menu drop-down item or a toolbar button.

    If I have time, I will look into this later today....

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Seems to work like a charm! Hope this is what you were looking for.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    And here is a side-by-side image of the executable working through a button on the QuickLaunch Bar.

    OK, I am outta here. Cool question. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    Well, here is a compiled executable that 'does it all'. You can use this in several ways:

    1) You can stick it in any folder, then place a shortcut to it on your QuickLaunch bar.
    2) You can place a shortcut to it in your Favorites.
    3) You can place a shortcut to it on your Links bar.
    4) I can make an IE toolbar button for you.
    5) I can make a Tools menu drop-down item.

    The last two items are generally linked -- to make a toolbar button, you essentially have to create the Tools menu item first, then link it to a button that can be optionally placed on the toolbar.

    Take your pick! <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Accessibility option (IE 6 SP1)

    R2: Great stuff! Very instructive. Thanks!

    I downloaded the executable. I guess I can muck around with making a right-click entry in IE but if you already have a .reg for this, could you post it? I think a right-click entry would be the best solution but some may want a toolbar button. I have like 60 links in my link bar already, so that isn't a good idea for me....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •