Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    My new computer will be arriving next week with XP Home preinstalled.

    I have a new copy of XP Pro I want to use in order to make use of features not present in XP Home.

    Can I install Pro over Home? Or do I have to re-format HD and do a fresh install of Pro? This is less desireable as I am not looking forward to also reinstalling drivers etc.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    New computer from what OEM, and is it a desktop or laptop?

    And Yes, you will need to get the new drivers from that OEM.

    Why did you not just get the new computer with Pro installed?
    You would have a lot less problems depending on the OEM.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Dell Desktop -8250.

    If I'd been smart, I would have had Pro come with the unit but I already had a copy of Pro so didn't want to buy another. Penny wise and pound foolish. I saw my error this afternoon but too late to make the change with Dell - they shipped this morning.

    So, it sounds as if I will have to reformat and then install Pro, right? I assume that I can't simply uninstall Home.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Also you may find out that it will come as NTFS which is another world. Also you may find out that Dell will NOT provide the drivers because you did NOT get Pro from them and the warranty and support will be voided because you installed a non Dell version of the OS..

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Great.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    All drivers are ABSOLUTELY the same for all 32-bit WinXP, doesn't matter Home or Pro (64-bit version is another story). If your machine will come with no other stuff than Windows (as Dell usually do), I would recommend to install XP Pro "on top" of XP Home - it will not do any harm, and your warranty will be valid. After activation, don't forget to check Windows Update for latest updates and new drivers.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Peter,

    Regarding the issue of void warranties... I have a Dell (4100) that came with Win ME. I wanted to upgrade to XP and wasn't sure whether to get Home or Pro (thanks to all who replied to my post - I purchased Pro). I called Dell to check on my warranty status if I purchased a 'different' OS than the one that came from factory (I have lifetime tech phone support). They said that any OS related problems would NOT be supported and they would have me restore ME, etc. Then they would try to diagnose the problem from that point (duh!). However, if the OS is purchased from Dell they would continue to fully support the system and I would have access to any updates from their website. The OS is not tweaked in any way, shape or form. It's a straight Microsoft upgrade box. I went ahead and purchased it from them ($179 U.S. dollars, free shipping, NO SALES TAX). I installed it and, after a few tweaks and perusals to this board, it's working like a charm and much better/efficient than ME ever did. So check with Dell and see what they tell you. I have generally had a good experience with tech support.

    Anyway, just my two cents and good luck!,

    LMD

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    But if a clean install is done, the Dell drivers may not be on the MS CD. So one would need to get the Dell drivers for their hardware from them. The drivers are can not be gotten to on the Home restore CD from Dell.
    Most of the drivers on the MS CD are generic and will work on most hardware. However, some features provided by the OEM wiil not be there.

    The laptops are a bigger problem for example, the battery charging software is NOT on the MS CD because each OEM uses a different one.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    All this is good to read. The new 'pooter should be here by MOnday and I will see what happens when I install Pro on top of Home. Thanks to everyone for advice. I'll let you know what happens.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    I've done quite a few XP Pro upgrades over XP Home, without any problems. Done it on Dells, HPs, Toshiba Laptops, Sony Laptops. One interesting point is that I once had to call Toshiba over a problem unrelated to the OS. They told me that because I had upgraded from Home to Pro, they would not support the machine. It didn't void my warranty; I just forfeited my right to phone support. Picky, picky.

    Joel

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    New computer is in, operating with the XP Pro upgrade and all is well with the world.

    Upgrade went without a hitch. No need to reinstall drivers, which came with the unit.

    I guess I'm just an old worry-wart from having so many bad experiences beginning with Win 3.1 that I've never gotten over.

    Thanks to all who contributed to this discussion. And to those who read the threads, I hope your upgrades are as easy as mine was!

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Have you tried to do a CLEAN install of Win XP Pro on any of these machines?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Have you tried to do a CLEAN install of Win XP Pro on any of these machines?

    No. I know the advantages, but never felt the need. I didn't want to get involved in obtaining new drivers, etc. I've probably done a couple of dozen of them, and never had a problem. Must be lucky :-)

    Joel

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    Joel,

    I stand corrected. I used the wrong choice of words. As you stated, a person would forfeit their right to phone support. Truly picky and dangerous if a user has very little experience 'tinkering' to lose that right.

    LMD

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Install XP Pro over XP Home (XP Pro)

    LMD - I hope you didn't get the wrong impression. I wasn't trying to correct you. Some manufacturers may, indeed, void their warranties for what we're doing. It wouldn't surprise me one bit. I was only letting the "gang" know my experience. As far as I'm concerned, if Toshiba won't "support" me because I loaded XP Pro, then they are, de facto, telling me that I've voided my warranty. I'll bet that if I sent my computer to them for repair, they'd send it right back or charge me for out of warranty service. What an industry!!

    Joel

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •